Quiet Please: The New Best of Nick Lowe

Quiet Please: The New Best of Nick Lowe

by Nick LoweNick Lowe


$18.34 $20.99 Save 13% Current price is $18.34, Original price is $20.99. You Save 13%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Quiet Please bears the subtitle "The New Best of Nick Lowe", making no attempt to disguise the fact that it's been a full 20 years since Nick's last hits collection, Basher. That "new" designation is also a subtle indication of the editorial slant of Quiet Please, how it shifts away from the frenzied new wave rocker toward the swinging songwriter of the '90s and 2000s, and not just because the second disc of this double-disc set is devoted to the mellow, deeply felt country-rock and torch songs that have been Lowe's specialty since 1994's The Impossible Bird. Compilation producer Gregg Geller admits to bypassing Lowe's covers in favor of his originals -- that explains why such singles as "Switchboard Susan," "Teacher Teacher," and "7 Nights to Rock" aren't here -- but he also deliberately skews the selection of songs from the '70s and '80s to create a common thread from Brinsley Schwarz's 1974 finale The New Favourites to 2007's At My Age, one that concentrates on Lowe's wry, immaculately crafted songs and not the pop prankster Jesus of Cool. This approach may fit the sensibility of Lowe's latter-day records, illustrating the through line from "Endless Sleep" and "You Make Me" to "Lately I've Let Things Slide" and "Indian Queens," but it isn't necessarily a more accurate reading of his career. After all, until The Impossible Bird, there was a lot of rock & roll in Lowe's albums, something that this collection downplays quite a bit -- but if that's the side of Nick you need to hear, stick with Basher, whose title speaks to its style as much as Quiet Please. Plus, this rock & roll deficiency is the only flaw on this otherwise sterling collection, the first to cover pretty much his entire career, which means it's the first to give an idea of just what a consistent body of work Lowe has built up over the years. Over the course of two discs and 49 tracks, the sounds may shift but the quality doesn't: there's not a dip in quality and everything on the second disc holds its own with the music on the first. Throughout it all, Lowe's knack for sly, understated songcraft shines and if he doesn't necessarily get better over the years, he might get seamless, writing songs so elegantly polished and delivered they seem effortless. While it could hardly be said to have all of Nick's best -- it not only is skimpy on rock and Rockpile, but also only one cut from Brinsley Schwarz -- it does what so few career-spanning compilations do: it tells a story and stands as testament to the artist's enormous talents.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/17/2009
Label: Yep Roc Records
UPC: 0634457261822
catalogNumber: 2618
Rank: 25204

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Lowe   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals,8-string Bass,Fender Telecaster
Carlene Carter   Piano,Hammond Organ
Paul Carrack   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals
Ry Cooder   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Elvis Costello   Background Vocals
Dave Edmunds   Organ,Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
John Hiatt   Guitar,Voices
Men They Couldn't Hang   Track Performer
Ian Gomm   Guitar,Background Vocals
Steve Nieve   Piano,Hammond Organ
Billy Rankin   Percussion,Drums
Geraint Watkins   Organ,Piano,Electric Guitar
Jim Keltner   Drums
Bill Gibson   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Bill Kirchen   Trombone,Electric Guitar
Bob Andrews   Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Ben Barson   Piano,Hammond Organ
Roger Bechirian   Organ,Tambourine,Background Vocals
Martin Belmont   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jeff Blythe   Saxophone
Aldo Bocca   Guitar
Andrew Bodnar   Bass
Billy Bremner   Guitar,Background Vocals
Neil Brockbank   Vox Organ
Ray Brown   String Bass
Johnny Colla   Guitar,Saxophone,Background Vocals
James Eller   Bass
Steve Goulding   Drums
Chris Hayes   Guitar,Background Vocals
Sean Hopper   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Chrissie Hynde   Vocals
Bobby Irwin   Drums,Background Vocals
Neill King   Piano,Hammond Organ
Huey Lewis   Harmonica,Background Vocals
Bob Loveday   Violin,Viola
Tessa Niles   Background Vocals
Phillip Frederick Odgers   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Jimmy Paterson   Trombone
Dave Plews   Trumpet
Paul Riley   Bass
Paul Speare   Saxophone
Bruce Thomas   Bass
Pete Thomas   Drums
Terry Williams   Drums
Austin DeLone   Acoustic Guitar,Piano
Steve Donnelly   Guitar
Shane Bradley   Bass
Robert Trehern   Drums,Background Vocals
Mario Cippolina   Bass
Martin Winning   Tenor Saxophone
Paul Simmonds   Bouzouki,Guitar
Matt Radford   Double Bass
Matt Holland   Piano,Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Soloist
Jon Odges   Drums
Saint Keverne Band   Track Performer
Linnea Svensson   Background Vocals
Nick Pentelow   Tenor Saxophone
Brinsley Schwarz   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Gary Grainger   Fuzz Guitar

Technical Credits

Paul Carrack   Duet
Elvis Costello   Producer
Dave Edmunds   Producer
Paul Bass   Producer
Roger Bechirian   Producer
Andrew Bodnar   Composer
Neil Brockbank   Producer
Colin Fairley   Producer
Huey Lewis   Producer
Nick Lowe   Producer
Jake Riviera   Producer

Customer Reviews