Rachael Lampa

Rachael Lampa

by Rachael LampaRachael Lampa


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Blessed with a precocious talent, teen singer Rachael Lampa early on avoided the bubblegum trap that has snared so many of her peers. Lampa's is a mature voice, full of nuance and depth, and her previous two releases have wisely focused on this prodigious vocal ability, not a youth-centered marketing plan. Likewise, the material on her self-titled third release shows the 19-year-old singer's maturity. Lampa co-wrote all of the 11 tracks here, which see her exploring a variety of musical styles and holding her own with special guests including TobyMac and Robert Randolph. There's the diva-powered pop of her earlier releases ("No Other One"), plus some winning forays into hip-hop/R&B (the bouncy, Beyoncé-channeling "Rubberhouse") and pop-rock ("All This Time"). Lampa's voice lends itself beautifully to hop-hop and bluesy gospel, making "Rubberhouse" engaging in a way that is lacking in the power ballads-we've heard Lampa belt it out before, so the balladry here often sounds old-hat. Less successful is the ska-inspired "Being Alive," in which Lampa's voice is drowned out by pounding drums and horns. The best track here by far is the closing number, "Room For Me." Lampa moves effortlessly through this intricate jazz-gospel melody, breathing life into its heartfelt lyric about finding one's way in the world. All in all, Rachael Lampa is another winning release from this young talent.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/27/2004
Label: Word
UPC: 0080688627621
catalogNumber: 886276
Rank: 122661

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rachael Lampa   Primary Artist,Vocals
Javier Solís   Percussion
Mark Douthit   Saxophone
Barry Green   Trombone
Bernie Harris   Piccolo Bass,Talk Box
Mike Haynes   Trumpet
Shandra Penix   Background Vocals
Tommy Sims   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Various,Moog Bass
Tiffany Ransom   Background Vocals
Nikki Leonti   Background Vocals
Pete Orta   Guitar
Akil Thompson   Bass
Sherrie Kibble   Background Vocals
Marvin Sims   Drums
Chris Rodriguez   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro
Jason Eskridge   Background Vocals
Robert Randolph   Steel Guitar
Nirva Dorsaint   Background Vocals
T-Bone   Rap
Will Sayles   Drums
Paul Moak   Guitar
Lamar Carter   Drums
Kimberly Mont   Background Vocals
Kendra Carr   Background Vocals
Jamie Fraley   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

David Davidson   String Arrangements
Natalie Hemby   Composer
Bryan Lenox   Engineer
Michael Omartian   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Richard Source Pena   Composer
Tommy Sims   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Audio Production,Instrumentation
Tim Akers   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Mark Lusk   Artist Development
Wayne Brezinka   Art Direction,Collage
Pete Orta   Composer
Chris Rodriguez   Composer
Ziggy   Programming
Rachael Lampa   Composer,Executive Producer
Katherine Petillo   Art Direction
Nathaniel Chan   Engineer
Sam Mizell   Composer

Customer Reviews