Rain Dogs (Sean Duffy Series #5)

Rain Dogs (Sean Duffy Series #5)

by Adrian McKinty


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Rain Dogs, a stunning installment in the Sean Duffy thriller series, following the Edgar Award-nominated Gun Street Girl, is “another standout in a superior series” (Booklist).

It’s just the same things over and again for Sean Duffy: riot duty, heartbreak, cases he can solve but never get to court. But what detective gets two locked-room mysteries in one career?

When journalist Lily Bigelow is found dead in the courtyard of Carrickfergus Castle, it looks like a suicide. Yet there are a few things that bother Duffy just enough to keep the case file open, which is how he finds out that Bigelow was working on a devastating investigation of corruption and abuse at the highest levels of power in the UK and beyond.

And so Duffy has two impossible problems on his desk: Who killed Lily Bigelow? And what were they trying to hide?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781094081021
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publication date: 07/09/2019
Series: Sean Duffy Series , #5
Sales rank: 213,973
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Adrian McKinty was born and grew up in Belfast, Northern Ireland. He attended Oxford University on a full scholarship where he studied philosophy. In the mid 1990’s he moved to New York and found work in bars, bookstores, and building sites, finally becoming a high school English teacher in Denver, Colorado. In 2004 Adrian’s debut crime novel, Dead I Well May Be, was shortlisted for the Dagger Award and was optioned by Universal Pictures. Since then his books have sold over half a million copies and been translated into a dozen languages. Adrian won the 2017 Edgar Award and is a two time winner of the Ned Kelly Award and the Barry Award.

Table of Contents

1. The Most Famous Man in the World2. The Theft That Wasn’t3. Lizzie Fitzpatrick Redux? 4. Mr. Underhill5. The Strange Suicide of Lily Bigelow6. The One Shoe7. Interviewing the Finns8. The Killing of the Chief Super9. Wiping the Whiteboard10. The Preliminary Autopsy Report11. Interviewing Mr. Underhill Redux12. East to the Smoke13. Jimmy Savile’s Caravan14. Kinkaid15. Tony McIlroy’s Detective Agency16. The Brothel17. Ed McBain’s Notebook18. Finlandia19. Constable Hornborg’s Story20. On the Ice21. Mercury tilt22. Closing the Net23. The Famous Carrickfergus Fifteen-Pub Crawl24. The Ministry Man25. Breaking the Case26. Lifting the Prime Suspect27. How He Did It28. The Oakman Surprises Everyone29. Kami No Itte—The Divine Move30. What Defeat Tastes Like31. It’s Not the Leaving of Liverpool That Grieves Me32. The Helsinki Times (Five Months Later)Afterword

Customer Reviews