Ramones [40th Anniversary Edition]

Ramones [40th Anniversary Edition]

by RamonesRamones


$8.25 $8.99 Save 8% Current price is $8.25, Original price is $8.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With the three-chord assault of "Blitzkrieg Bop," The Ramones begins at a blinding speed and never once over the course of its 14 songs does it let up. The Ramones is all about speed, hooks, stupidity, and simplicity. The songs are imaginative reductions of early rock & roll, girl group pop, and surf rock. Not only is the music boiled down to its essentials, but the Ramones offer a twisted, comical take on pop culture with their lyrics, whether it's the horror schlock of "I Don't Wanna Go Down to the Basement," the gleeful violence of "Beat on the Brat," or the maniacal stupidity of "Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue." And the cover of Chris Montez's "Let's Dance" isn't a throwaway -- with its single-minded beat and lyrics, it encapsulates everything the group loves about pre-Beatles rock & roll. They don't alter the structure, or the intent, of the song, they simply make it louder and faster. And that's the key to all of the Ramones' music -- it's simple rock & roll, played simply, loud, and very, very fast. None of the songs clock in at any longer than two and half minutes, and most are considerably shorter. In comparison to some of the music the album inspired, The Ramones sounds a little tame -- it's a little too clean, and compared to their insanely fast live albums, it even sounds a little slow -- but there's no denying that it still sounds brilliantly fresh and intoxicatingly fun. [A 40th Anniversary Edition was released in 2016.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2016
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227942991
catalogNumber: 6020
Rank: 20763

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ramones   Primary Artist
Joey Ramone   Vocals,Group Member
Dee Dee Ramone   Bass,Group Member
Johnny Ramone   Guitar,Group Member
Tommy Ramone   Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Craig Leon   Producer,Reissue Producer
Thomas Erdelyi   Composer
Bill Inglot   Executive Producer
Rob Freeman   Engineer
Roberta Bayley   Cover Photo
Jim Lee   Composer
Arturo Vega   Concept,Back Cover Photo
Sean Magee   Remastering Engineer
Sam O'Kell   Remastering Engineer
Jeffrey Hyman   Composer
Douglas Colvin   Composer
John Cummings   Composer

Customer Reviews