This item is not eligible for coupon offers.



by Anita BakerAnita Baker


$9.99 $13.99 Save 29% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $13.99. You Save 29%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, February 24
65 New & Used Starting at $1.99


It's a bitch being a romantic in a cynical age, but with Rapture, her 1986 debut album, Anita Baker made a fervent belief in romance seem more like a desirable strength than an unavoidable weakness. The songs on Rapture spoke of mature love and a faith in forever, even after a few previous forevers turned out to be painfully temporary. Also, Baker sang from a position of affluence, an important reminder at the time that you could have professional success without losing your soul. Baker's songs were sturdily constructed odes to her zealous convictions, and she sang them with a creamy alto that recalled classic jazz greats like Carmen McRae and Sarah Vaughan. More than most genres, R&B caters to teenage audiences, but Baker's music spoke loudly and proudly to those who had already been around the block a few times. In doing so, she paved the way for such artists as Des'ree, Maxwell, Erykah Badu, and Toni Braxton

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075596044424
catalogNumber: 60444
Rank: 12594


  1. Sweet Love
  2. You Bring Me Joy
  3. Caught up in the Rapture
  4. Been So Long
  5. Mystery
  6. No One in the World
  7. Same Ole Love
  8. Watch Your Step

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Anita Baker   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Vesta   Background Vocals
Jimmy Haslip   Bass
Bunny Hull   Background Vocals
Alex Brown   Background Vocals
Lorenzo Brown   Percussion
Paul Chiten   Synthesizer Overdubs
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Lynn Davis   Background Vocals
Vernon D. Fails   Keyboards
Lawrence Fratangelo   Percussion
Gant   Keyboards
Jim Gilstrap   Background Vocals
Donald Griffin   Guitar
Phillip Ingram   Background Vocals
Paul Jackson   Rhythm Guitar
Natalie Jackson   Background Vocals
Randy Kerber   Keyboards
Ricky Lawson   Drums
Arthur Marbury   Drums
Greg Moore   Guitar
Don Myrick   Saxophone
Dean Parks   Guitar
Greg Phillinganes   Synthesizer Overdubs
Darryl Phinnessee   Background Vocals
Michael J. Powell   Guitar,Finger Snapping
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Neil Stubenhaus   Bass
Fred Washington   Bass
David B. Washington   Bass
Warren Woods   Finger Snapping
Freddy Washington   Bass

Technical Credits

Anita Baker   Executive Producer
Robert Feist   Engineer
Barney Perkins   Engineer,Remixing
Michael J. Powell   Producer,Remixing
Marti Sharron   Composer,Producer
Gary Skardina   Producer,Engineer
Carol Friedman   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rapture 0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 0 reviews.