Regulate: G Funk Era [20th Anniversary Edition]

Regulate: G Funk Era [20th Anniversary Edition]

by Warren GWarren G


View All Available Formats & Editions


Anchored by the laid-back G-funk anthem "Regulate," Warren G's appropriately titled Regulate...G Funk Era embodies the mid-'90s era of Cali sunshine, endless blunts, and switch-hittin' lowriders with a welcome and somewhat surprising sense of kind-heartedness. Unlike most of his West Coast G-funk peers, Warren doesn't celebrate drive-by gang-bangin', dirty-money stackin', nor G's-up, hoes-down pimpin'. Sure, he says the F word once in a while and puffs on the cheeba-cheeba when it's passed his way, but he's essentially a good-natured, all-ages rapper, interested in nothing more than good ol'-fashioned hip-hop. He professes his demeanor succinctly on the catchy hook to "This DJ," the other era-defining highlight here: "It's kinda easy when you're listening to the G-ed-up sound/Pioneer speakers bumpin' as I smoke on a pound/I got the sound fo yo' ass and it's easy to see/That this DJ be Warren G." Like his stepbrother Dr. Dre, Warren is a more talented producer than rapper, and it's his by-the-book G-funk beat-making that truly shines here. For instance, another album highlight, "Do You See," boasts an elastic bassline and whistling synth hook, capturing the essence of G-funk as only Dre himself could. Warren further compensates for his middling rapping with a couple of guests, a few skits, and a brief running time. Even if "Regulate" and "This DJ" tower far above everything else here, Regulate...G Funk Era is nonetheless a minor gem among the myriad G-funk albums of the mid-'90s, and Warren embodies the style itself here with a precision perhaps second only to his older brother and does so with a refreshing air of harmlessness.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/09/2014
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0602547056832
catalogNumber: 002214502


  1. Regulate
  2. Do You See
  3. Gangsta Sermon
  4. Recognize
  5. Super Soul Sis
  6. '94 Ho Draft
  7. So Many Ways
  8. This D.J.
  9. This is the Shack
  10. What's Next
  11. And Ya Don't Stop
  12. Runnin' Wit No Breaks
  13. Regulate
  14. Regulate
  15. Regulate

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Warren G   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews