Remote Control

Remote Control

by The Tubes
1 New & Used Starting at $2.92


After stunning the rock world with their memorable debut in 1975, the Tubes ran into trouble. Although Young And Rich and Now had fine moments, they were uneven and left many rock pundits wondering if the Tubes had anything to offer besides shock value. They got their answer with the release of Remote Control, a cohesive and surprisingly thoughtful concept album. On this 1979 outing, the Tubes enlisted the services of wunderkind producer Todd Rundgren to create a concept album that skewers the television generation. The choice was a wise one - Rundgren helped the group harness their satirical bite and love of pomp-rock excess to create a sharp and engaging collection of songs. As they chronicle the life of an average joe whose life and dreams are swallowed by his television addiction, the Tubes lead the listener through a dazzling array of musical styles that include new-wave, lounge pop, reggae, and even full-throttle punk. Highlights include "Prime Time," a song that utilizes an effective combination of lounge-lizard atmosphere and new wave synthesizer textures to convey its portrait of television's seductiveness, and "Love's A Mystery (I Don't Understand)," a surprisingly straightforward ballad about romantic loss that features a truly heart-rending vocal from Fee Waybill. The group also gets a chance to show off their formidable instrumental chops on "Get-Overture," a tight instrumental that goes from atmospheric prog-rock to driving hard rock as it cleverly weaves together snippets of all the other songs' melodies. In short, Remote Control proves the Tubes were more than a bunch of musical jokesters. The end result is the band's finest hour and a treat for concept-album fanatics.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: A&M
UPC: 0075021324220
catalogNumber: 3242

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tubes   Primary Artist
Todd Rundgren   Guitar,Keyboards
Fee Waybill   Vocals,Group Member
Bill Spooner   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Michael Cotten   Synthesizer
Michael Cotton   Synthesizer
Mingo Lewis   Percussion
Prairie Prince   Drums
Roger Steen   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Re Styles   Vocals
Vince Welnick   Keyboards
Rick Anderson   Bass

Technical Credits

Todd Rundgren   Producer,Engineer
Tubes   Composer
Fee Waybill   Composer
Bill Spooner   Composer
Michael Cotten   Composer
Roger Steen   Composer
Vince Welnick   Composer,Contributor
Roland Young   Art Direction
Chuck Beeson   Cover Design
Jeffrey Kent Ayeroff   Contributor,Concept Coordination
Jim McCrary   Cover Photo
Rick Anderson   Composer,Contributor
Cotton Bend   Composer
Prairie Prince   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews