Restoration: Reimagining the Songs of Elton John and Bernie Taupin

Restoration: Reimagining the Songs of Elton John and Bernie Taupin


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One of two albums released as a celebration of the 50+ years of collaboration between Elton John and Bernie Taupin, Restoration: Reimagining the Songs of Elton John and Bernie Taupin is the brainchild of the lyricist, who wanted to pay tribute to the Americana that's informed his imagery ever since the beginning of his career. Taupin designed the artwork and recruited artists, leaning heavily on newer artists who are on the vanguard of the mainstream, but also finding plenty of space for veterans who have been around for as long as Elton, if not longer. There's a divide in aesthetics between the younger and older artists -- the former embrace the freedom of reinterpretation, the latter settle into their roots -- but they're largely complementary, revealing how enduring and malleable the John/Taupin catalog is. Maren Morris and Kacey Musgraves grab attention with their blissed-out, soulful readings of "Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters" and "Roy Rogers," but Brothers Osborne's funky "Take Me to the Pilot" and Miranda Lambert's mournful "My Father's Gun" are equally bracing. Dierks Bentley finds a sly Stonesy rhythm lurking in "Sad Songs (Say So Much), while Lee Ann Womack turns "Honky Cat" into a simmering soul workout and Little Big Town gives "Rocket Man" an arrangement worthy of Pentatonix. If Miley Cyrus leans too hard on Shania Twain-isms for "The Bitch Is Back," she's overshadowed by delicate work form Willie Nelson, Don Henley & Vince Gill, Rosanne Cash & Emmylou Harris, and Rhonda Vincent & Dolly Parton, who all show that hushed voices can be more compelling than bluster. But that also just points out how lean and sharp Restoration is: The artists take risks, and they -- and the songbook -- come out sounding the better for it.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/06/2018
Label: Mca Nashville
UPC: 0602567409199
catalogNumber: 002806602
Rank: 177202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rhonda Vincent   Mandolin,Vocals
Rosanne Cash   Vocals
Emmylou Harris   Vocals
Willie Nelson   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Dolly Parton   Vocals
Don Henley   Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Robben Ford   Guitar
Mickey Raphael   Harmonica
Larry Atamanuik   Percussion,Drums
Mike Bub   Bass
Paul Buckmaster   Conductor
Matt Chamberlain   Drums
Dan Dugmore   Pedal Steel Guitar
Vince Gill   Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
John Jarvis   Keyboards
Jay Joyce   Vocals,Harmony,Hammond B3
Chuck Leavell   Piano,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Fred Mandel   Keyboards
Greg Morrow   Drums
John Osborne   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Mike Rojas   Accordion,Hammond B3
Josh Williams   Acoustic Guitar
Glenn Worf   Bass,Percussion
Antoine Silverman   Violin
Jon Randall Stewart   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion
Lee Ann Womack   Vocals
Ben Isaacs   Background Vocals
Bryan Sutton   Guitar (Resonator)
Tania Hancheroff   Background Vocals
Jason Hall   Vocals,Harmony
Ian Fitchuk   Drums,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals
Karen Fairchild   Vocals
Jimi Westbrook   Vocals
Aaron McDaris   Banjo
Dierks Bentley   Vocals
Hunter Berry   Fiddle
Chris Coleman   Juno,Guitar Effects
Jedd Hughes   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Percussion,Electric Guitar
Miranda Lambert   Vocals
Lucie Silvas   Vocals
Jessi Alexander   Background Vocals
Derek Mixon   Drums
Maren Morris   Vocals
Dave Cobb   Acoustic Guitar
Miley Cyrus   Vocals
Charlie Worsham   Acoustic Guitar
Phillip Sweet   Vocals
Kacey Musgraves   Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Jimmy Wallace   Organ,Piano
Chris Stapleton   Electric Guitar,Vocals
J.T. Cure   Bass
Kimberly Roads   Vocals
Busbee   Bass,Piano,Trumpet,Vocals,Background Vocals,Wurlitzer
Gunnar Olsen   Drums
Mickey Harris   Bass
Matt Pynn   Pedal Steel Guitar
Rob McNelly   Electric Guitar
Pete Sternberg   Bass,Vocals
Kyle Ryan   Percussion,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Billy Justineau   Mellotron,fender rhodes
Regiment Horns   Horn
Frank Rische   Acoustic Guitar
Adam Keafer   Bass
Brent Burke   Guitar (Resonator)
Sam Smith   Percussion,Drums
Hilary Hawke   Banjo
Todd Lombardo   Acoustic Guitar
Harrison Whitford   Electric Guitar
T.J. Osborne   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Bennett Lewis   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Andrew Wyatt   Acoustic Guitar,Bass
Adam Box   Drums,Vocals
Jacob Munk   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Don Henley   Producer
Elton John   Composer
Paul Buckmaster   String Arrangements
Steve Churchyard   Engineer
Vince Gill   Producer
Jay Joyce   Producer
John Leventhal   Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Gary Paczosa   Engineer
Tom Rutledge   Vocal Engineer
Bernie Taupin   Composer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer,Art Direction
Glenn Worf   Producer
Drew Bollman   Engineer
Suzie Katayama   String Conductor
Jon Randall Stewart   Producer
Mike McCarthy   Producer,Engineer
Steve Chadie   Engineer
Frank Liddell   Producer,Executive Producer
Vance Powell   Engineer
Jason Hall   Engineer
Little Big Town   Arranger
Jason Mott   Engineer
Paul Kremen   Executive Producer
Dave Cobb   Producer
Dave Clauss   Engineer
Chris Stapleton   Producer
Busbee   Producer
Tim Brennan   Engineer
Kyle Ryan   Arranger,Producer
Brandon Schexnayder   Engineer
Eric Masse   Producer,Engineer
Richard Davis   Engineer
Shani Gandhi   Engineer
Gena Johnson   Engineer
Shalini Gandhi   Engineer
Andrew Wyatt   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Barry McCready   Engineer
Brent Mitschke   Engineer
Jonathan Lee Chan   Engineer
Jacob Munk   Engineer

Customer Reviews