The Richest Man in Babylon

The Richest Man in Babylon

by Thievery CorporationThievery Corporation


$12.88 $12.99 Save 1% Current price is $12.88, Original price is $12.99. You Save 1%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Their sound may seem ubiquitous -- the soundtrack to every hip boutique on the block -- but nobody marries down-tempo beats and pan-global flavors with more finesse than Thievery Corporation. Emerging out of the multicultural U.S. capital, the duo of Eric Hamilton and Rob Garza draw on the sounds of Brazil (breezy bossa nova), the Middle East (throbbing hand drums), Jamaica (pulsing dub reggae), India (sitar-rich mixes), and beyond on The Richest Man in Babylon, a slightly more sophisticated update on its immediate predecessor, The Mirror Conspiracy. As on that sleeper dance music hit, the pair show utmost respect and outright affection for the varied strains making up their composite sound, allowing each room to breathe even as it commingles with its neighbors. A perfect example would be "Omid (Hope)," which French vocalist LouLou renders in airy Farsi (one of five languages represented here), her cloud-borne words floating atop bubbling percussion, echo-laden synths, and a persistent beat. Or "Meu Destino (My Destiny)," which layers tasty, Latin-veined acoustic guitar picking and Patrick De Santos's Portuguese singing over a gently pulsing rhythm track. Other highlights include the Latin excursion "Exilo (Exile)" and the bristling dub-influenced "The State of the Union," a political fireball aimed at the lawmakers down the road, sung by dancehall vocalists Shinehead and Sleepy Wonder. With their world-clique perspective, these two American fellas have emerged with a true lingua franca -- a sound that transcends borders and tongues with taste and an innate musicality.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/01/2002
Label: Eighteenth Street
UPC: 0795103006027
catalogNumber: 60

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thievery Corporation   Primary Artist
Shinehead   Vocals
Manoochehr Sadeghi   Santur
Chris Pupa Roots Vrenios   Guitar
Rick Harris   Horn
Desmond Williams   Bass,Guitar
Jim West   Drums
Harold B. Little   Horn
Wayne Wilentz   Keyboards,Wurlitzer
Emiliana Torrini   Vocals
Sleepy Wonder   Vocals
Pam Bricker   Vocals
Frankie Addison   Horn
Javier Miranda   Percussion
Ustad Amir   Sitar
Patrick DeSantos   Vocals
Verny Varela   Flute,Vocals
Harold Little   Horn
Sonny Caberwal   Tabla
Ustad Amir   Sitar
Steven Albert   Guitar,Electric Bass
Kelvin Sampson   Horn
Frankie Addison   Horn
Roberto Berimbao   Electric Bass

Technical Credits

Eric Hilton   Producer
Desmond Williams   Engineer

Customer Reviews