Richmond Rarities

Richmond Rarities


$17.38 $18.99 Save 8% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $18.99. You Save 8%.


The complete output of three major territory bands and one minor one is included on this perfectly-conceived CD. Alex Jackson's Plantation Orchestra was quite primitive, but its four titles include a classic rendition of "Jackass Blues." Alphonso Trent's Orchestra (which recorded a dozen numbers during 1928-33) featured such players as trumpeters Irving "Mouse" Randolph and Peanuts Holland, trombonist Snub Mosley, and violinist Stuff Smith. Highlights include "Nightmare," "After You've Gone," "St. James Infirmary," "Clementine," and "I Found a New Baby." Zack Whyte's Chocolate Beau Brummels (heard on six numbers plus three alternate takes) includes trumpeter/arranger Sy Oliver, tenor saxophonist Al Sears, and pianist Herman Chittison among its sidemen, while the four numbers from Red Perkins' Dixie Ramblers show that obscure band could hold its own with most groups of 1931. A consistently stimulating and historic release.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/11/1998
Label: Jazz Oracle
UPC: 0620588800825
catalogNumber: 8008

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Harry Edison   Trumpet
Sears   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Herman Chittison   Piano,Cello
Sy Oliver   Trumpet
Clarence Wheeler   Trumpet
Charlie Anderson   Banjo
Floyd Brady   Trombone
Alvin Burroughs   Drums
A.G. Godley   Drums
Peanuts Holland   Trumpet
George Hudson   Trombone,Trumpet
Snub Mosley   Trombone,Vocals
Irving "Mouse" Randolph   Trumpet
Ben Richardson   Alto Saxophone
Harold Scott   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Bob Ysaguirre   Bowed Bass
Lee Hilliard   Alto Saxophone
John Fielding   Vocals
Charles Watkins   Banjo,Guitar
Alphonse Trent   Piano,Track Performer
Fred Jackson   Tenor Saxophone
Dick Ward   Drums
Zack Whyte   Banjo,Track Performer
Alex Jackson   Vocals
Robert "Eppie" Jackson   Bowed Bass
James Jeter   Alto Saxophone
Bubber Whyte   Trumpet
Gus Wilson   Trombone
Eugene Crooke   Banjo,Guitar
Chester Clark   Trumpet
Joe King   Trombone
Lee Golden   Trumpet
Lonnie Small   Piano
Tommy Short   Banjo

Technical Credits

King Oliver   Composer
Keith Miller   Engineer
Jack Palmer   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Mark Miller   Liner Notes
Jack King   Graphic Design
Ken Crawford   Engineer
John R.T. Davies   Producer,Engineer
Colin Bray   Producer
Traditional   Composer
John Wilby   Producer,Liner Notes
Gus Wilson   Arranger
Joe Primrose   Composer
Pete Whelan   Engineer
Grant Cairns   Engineer
Joe Moore   Engineer
Joe Moore   Engineer

Customer Reviews