by Trick PonyTrick Pony


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The third album from Trick Pony proves the hardy trio still live for honky-tonk and hard country. They come out of the box kickin' with the rowdy, rockin' "Ain't Wastin' Good Whiskey on You," bolstered by Tracy Byrd, Joe Diffie, and Darryl Worley on the sing-along chorus. The rockabilly-fueled "Cry, Cry, Cry" is a thumping, bumping dance hall barnburner, replete with slapping bass and a snarling electric guitar behind Keith Burns's fierce vocal. The threesome dip a toe into the pop realm on the sensitive ballad for piano and pedal steel, "When I Fall," and they roll out a stomping rendition of the old warhorse "It's a Heartache," which they claim as their own thanks to Heidi Newfield's gritty, sandpapery voice, the ideal vehicle to put it across amid jangling guitars and a winsome harmonica line. But those are digressions; the heart and soul of the matter is in the tough stuff. Newfield offers an urgent reading of a soaring cautionary tale, "The Bride," and delivers a bluesy declamation on the richly textured mid-tempo rocker "Once a Cowboy." Meanwhile, the whole band get ragged but right on the lean, mean, hip-hop-flavored "Senorita." Kris Kristofferson sits in to recite a moving farewell note Newfield wrote to her recently deceased mother in "Maryann's Song," after which Newfield enters singing heart-rending lyrics -- customized for the song's second half by Todd Woolsey -- in a performance with decided gospel overtones, made doubly affecting by stark dobro-guitar accompaniment. Hold on tight: This is quite a R.I.D.E.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/23/2005
Label: Curb Records
UPC: 0715187886421
catalogNumber: 78864
Rank: 96893

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Trick Pony   Primary Artist
John Jorgenson   Electric Guitar
Richard Bennett   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Pat Buchanan   Dobro,Electric Guitar
J.T. Corenflos   Electric Guitar
Shannon Forrest   Drums
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Paul Franklin   Pedal Steel Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Owen Hale   Drums
Chris Leuzinger   Electric Guitar
Chris McHugh   Drums
Greg Morrow   Drums
Gordon Mote   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Wurlitzer
Steve Nathan   Organ
Milton Sledge   Drums
Joe Spivey   Fiddle
John Willis   Banjo,Electric Guitar
Michael Spriggs   Acoustic Guitar
Bobby Terry   Electric Guitar
Darius Rucker   Vocals
Audrey Haney   Fiddle
Billy Hullet   Acoustic Guitar
Larry Baird   Acoustic Guitar
Troy Lancaster   Electric Guitar
Ira Dean   Acoustic Guitar,Bass
Heidi Newfield   Harmonica
Jim "Moose" Brown   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Johnny Hiland   Electric Guitar
Steve Bryant   Bass
Tommy Hardin   Drums
Jimmy Panda   Acoustic Guitar
Anthony Smith   Banjo
Michael Spiggs   Acoustic Guitar
Keith Burns   Acoustic Guitar
Keith Burns   Acoustic Guitar
Heidi Newfield Johnson   Harmonica,Vocals
Mike Johnson   Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

Matraca Berg   Composer
Billy Dean   Composer
Steve Wolfe   Composer
Daryl Burgess   Composer
Chris Dunn   Horn Arrangements
Jim Horn   Horn Arrangements
Chuck Howard   Producer
Sam Levine   Horn Arrangements
Branford Marsalis   Horn Arrangements
Steve Patrick   Horn Arrangements
Sharon Vaughn   Composer
David Lee Murphy   Composer
Mark Oliverius   Composer
Bob Campbell-Smith   Engineer
Ronnie Scott   Composer
Jeffrey Steele   Composer
Sherrié Austin   Composer
Jeff Watkins   Engineer
Will Rambeaux   Composer
Kim Tribble   Composer
Ira Dean   Composer,Executive Producer
Henry Garza   Composer
Glenn Sweitzer   Art Direction
Shane Minor   Composer
Wally Wilson   Composer
Ringo Garza   Composer
Buck Moore   Composer
Anthony Smith   Producer
Todd Woolsey   Composer
Keith Burns   Composer

Customer Reviews