Rising for the Moon [Deluxe Edition]

Rising for the Moon [Deluxe Edition]

by Fairport ConventionFairport Convention

CD(Special Edition)

$27.34 $27.99 Save 2% Current price is $27.34, Original price is $27.99. You Save 2%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Although there's nothing here as overpowering as "Sailor's Life" or "Sloth," this record is still a choice release, as Sandy Denny's official return to Fairport. She wrote or co-wrote seven of its 11 songs, and dominates most of the others with her voice. This lineup (Denny, Dave Swarbrick, Dave Pegg, Jerry Donahue, Trevor Lucas, and Bruce Rowland, with Dave Mattacks -- who quit partway through -- drumming on some of the tracks) went for the gold with rock veteran Glyn Johns in the producer's spot. The result was the only Fairport album done after the departure of Richard Thompson that doesn't sound anemic in the electric guitar department. Some of the songs, especially the title track and "Restless," have the feel of compact, breezy pop/country-rock, reminiscent of the Eagles or Firefall, although it's hard to imagine either of those groups turning in anything with the ethereal beauty of Denny's performance on "White Dress" or "Dawn." Those songs and "Stranger to Himself" could easily have been on one of her solo albums. Others, like Trevor Lucas' "Iron Lion," sound almost like Fairport's version of the Rolling Stones' "Dead Flowers." Only the Swarbrick/Pegg "Night-Time Girl" resembles Fairport's established work from their earlier history. This was the last album and the last incarnation of Fairport Convention to present itself to the public as a contemporary rock group. Beyond this point, they became part of the folk revival circuit, albeit with a huge audience.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/03/2013
Label: Universal Import
UPC: 0602537492527
catalogNumber: 3749252
Rank: 41240


  1. Raising for the Moon
  2. Restless
  3. White Dress
  4. Let It Go
  5. Stranger to Himself
  6. What Is True?
  7. Iron Lion
  8. Dawn
  9. After Halloween
  10. Night-Time Girl
  11. One More Chance
  12. White Dress
  13. Dawn
  14. What Is True
  15. After Halloween
  16. The King and Queen of England

Album Credits

Customer Reviews