Road Less Traveled

Road Less Traveled

by Lauren Alaina
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 25


Lauren Alaina traveled a long road to her second album, taking six years to deliver a sequel to her 2011 debut. Blame the delay on vagaries of the marketplace and also a 2014 vocal surgery, two elements that ensure a slow working pace, but the upside of this half-decade hiatus is that Road Less Traveled almost plays like a second debut album. It announces a new Lauren Alaina, one who is happy to be a country diva in the vein of Carrie Underwood. Wildflower, her 2011 album, also carried a debt to Underwood but it retained a bit of a twang, whereas Road Less Traveled is a big, bright country confection. Alaina co-wrote every one of the 12 songs and whether they're ballads or chipper pop tunes, they're usually sturdy numbers. She may drift into the saccharine when she slows the tempo -- the closing "Pretty" is a self-empowerment anthem that attempts to spin Christina Aguilera's "Beautiful" toward Middle America -- but the faster cuts are usually jubilant and help propel Road Less Traveled, turning it into a strong modern country-pop album.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2017
Label: Mercury Nashville
UPC: 0602557356885
catalogNumber: 002622402
Rank: 24445

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lauren Alaina   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
J.T. Corenflos   Electric Guitar
David Dorn   Synthesizer,Piano,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Dan Dugmore   Pedal Steel Guitar
Jerry McPherson   Electric Guitar
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
Kim Keyes   Background Vocals
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Pat McGrath   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin
Mark Hill   Bass
Derek Wells   Banjo,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Jason Webb   Synthesizer,Piano,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Carolyn Dawn Johnson   Background Vocals
Tony Lucido   Bass
Aaron Sterling   Percussion,Drums
Busbee   Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Justin Schipper   Pedal Steel Guitar
Joeie Canaday   Bass
Mike Johnson   Pedal Steel Guitar
Evan Hutchings   Percussion,Drums
Dave Cohen   Synthesizer,Piano,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Kristen Rogers   Background Vocals
Carl Miner   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bouzouki,Mandolin
Emily Weisband   Background Vocals
Erika Attwater   Background Vocals
Seth Ennis   Background Vocals
Stephcynie Curry   Background Vocals
Morgan Hebert   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Derek Wells   Engineer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
Eric Olson   Composer,Programming
Jim Cooley   Engineer
Caitlyn Smith   Composer
Aaron Sterling   Engineer
Dave Clauss   Engineer
Victoria Banks   Composer
Jesse Frasure   Composer,Programming
Johan Fransson   Composer,Engineer
Busbee   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Casey Brown   Programming
Dan Couch   Composer
Evan Hutchings   Programming
Emily Shackleton   Composer
Mason Levy   Programming
Lauren Alaina   Composer,Art Direction
Meghan Trainor   Composer
Jordan Reynolds   Composer
Lindsay Rimes   Composer,Programming
Lindsey Lee   Composer
Alex Masters   Composer
Emily Weisband   Composer
Matthew McVaney   Composer
Seth Ennis   Composer
Felicia Barton   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews