Rockin' in the Forest with Farmer Jason

Rockin' in the Forest with Farmer Jason

by Farmer JasonFarmer Jason


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Farmer Jason is back, but this time out he's migrated from the farm to the forest, uncovering a tasty selection of musical fruits that'll appeal to kids of all ages. The erstwhile Jason & the Scorchers frontman pays exhilarating homage to the Ramones on "Punk Rock Skunk," with its "Hey ho! Let's go!" children's chorus, buzz-saw guitars, and goofy lyrics sung from the point of view of, yes, a skunk that's leaving the straight life behind. The fanciful "Ode to a Toad" starts south of the border and winds up even farther south, in a Jamaican dance hall. A rhyming game that identifies forest creatures, "Forest Rhymes" cops its rhythmic thrust from both "Bo Diddley" and "Mystery Train," and has a wonderful message: "Rhymin' is so fun to do / go ahead and try / play a game with words and you / let your spirits fly!" By encouraging his young listeners to luxuriate in the wonders of language, Farmer Jason (né Jason Ringenberg) presents an album that plays like a rock 'n' roll Sesame Street segment. Welcomed by Farmer Jason as a "famous folk singer," Todd Snider shows up for a smoky guest vocal on the lean, stinging country blues "He's a Moose on the Loose." Alert older listeners will identify the multitude of musical sources Farmer Jason references in his polyglot arrangements, and will likely have as much fun with the lyrics as will the kids. Children's music for all ages -- that's what this Farmer's cultivating.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2006
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227473822
catalogNumber: 74738
Rank: 118618

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Farmer Jason   Primary Artist
Kristi Rose   Vocals
Webb Wilder   Guitar,Vocals,Rap,Announcer
Todd Snider   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
George Bradfute   Organ,Bass,Guitar,Mandolin,Percussion,Piano,Violin,Cello,Keyboards,Choir, Chorus,Synthesizer Guitar,Slide Guitar
Victor Wooten   Group Member
Molly Felder   Vocals
Fats Kaplin   Harmonica,Violin,Steel Guitar,Oud,Penny Whistle
Steve Ebe   Drums
Holly Wooten   Group Member
Kaila Wooten   Group Member
Chris Talbot   Group Member
Mike Noble   Guitar
Delia Chase   Group Member
Mary Ann Chase   Group Member
Addie Rose Ringenberg   Violin,Vocals,Group Member
Camille Ringenberg   Vocals,Group Member
Isaac Talbott   Group Member
Phil Lee   Trumpet
Adam Wooten   Group Member
Arianna Wooten   Group Member
Cameron Wooten   Group Member

Technical Credits

George Bradfute   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Jason Ringenberg   Composer
Fats Kaplin   Composer
Jay Faires   Executive Producer
Brad Talbott   Illustrations
Jerry Ringenberg   Composer
Mike Hodge   Web Design
Paul Needham   Composer,Web Design

Customer Reviews