Rockin' the Joint

Rockin' the Joint

by AerosmithAerosmith


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


After more than three decades of slogging it out onstage, the members of Aerosmith know what makes a great live show -- and, just as important, what makes for a great live album. Rockin’ the Joint is certainly one of those, in part because of the unfailingly hot performances and in part because -- to paraphrase one of Steven Tyler’s trademark lines -- the band offers more than the same old song and dance. The disc, recorded at Las Vegas’ Hard Rock Hotel at the dawn of 2002, isn’t simply a rehashing of the quintet’s greatest hits. Yes, there’s a suitably flirtatious take on “Walk This Way” and a (less-than-successful) attempt to ignite lighters via “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing,” but the band spend more time shining a light on the more obscure, considerably funkier corners of their catalog. To that end, Joe Perry uses “Rattlesnake Shake” to unleash some of the post-Keef blues licks on which he built his rep and forges “Seasons of Wither” into a dark, burnished mood piece. Tyler, naturally, takes the opposite approach, ramping up the bump ‘n’ grind factor on both “Big Ten Inch Record” and “Draw the Line,” and generally casting himself as the social director on a cruise to libido-land. Anyone heading thereabouts would do well to pick up a copy of this disc as a soundtrack: Heck, it might even inspire a spur-of-the-moment visit on its own!

Product Details

Release Date: 01/08/2008
Label: Columbia Europe
UPC: 0828767242125
catalogNumber: 767242
Rank: 44870

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Aerosmith   Primary Artist
Joe Perry   Guitar
Russ Irwin   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Joey Kramer   Drums
Steven Tyler   Harmonica,Vocals,Background Vocals
Brad Whitford   Guitar
Tom Hamilton   Bass,Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Joe Perry   Composer
Nicholas Brown   Management
Guy Charbonneau   Engineer
Marti Frederiksen   Producer
L. Mann   Composer
Steven Tyler   Composer,Producer
Diane Warren   Composer
Gail Marowitz   Art Direction
Sean Evans   Art Direction
Howard Kaufman   Management
Jim Survis   Guitar Techician
Keith Garde   Creative Consultant
Jimmy Eyers   Management
Greg Howard   Guitar Techician
Danielle Faith Friedman   Management
Trudy Green   Management
John "Magee" McGarry   Drum Technician
Lisa Medina   Management
Marcee Rondon   Publicity
Jerry Sabatino   Guitar Techician,Bass Technician,Instrument Technician
Michael Scheinne   Management
Randle Feagin   Booking

Customer Reviews