Rockin' This House

Rockin' This House

by Memphis Slim


$24.98 $28.99 Save 14% Current price is $24.98, Original price is $28.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


Once again the U.K.'s JSP reissue label offers a massive chunk of historical material in a low-priced four-CD compilation, this time culled from the heart of the postwar Chicago blues scene. Memphis Slim, who first blew in from Arkansas and Tennessee in 1937, is heard on 64 tracks recorded between 1946 and 1954. This is the fundamental core of Slim's postwar period. Bolstered by a series of upright bassists (Willie Dixon plays and sings on one of the dates), the occasional drummer, and a regular stable of tenor and alto saxophonists, the pianist sings about interpersonal relationships, working, partying, and hitting the road. This is rough-and-tumble entertainment. Slim's early Chicago background as a tough-as-nails landlord and peddler of bootleg liquor is tangibly present. While his powerful voice is an essential ingredient, the instrumentals are fascinating. "Jumping Bean" taps into New Orleans rhumba territory and even contains a quote from the Xavier Cugat hit "Brazil." One dozen sides by the great Roosevelt Sykes add considerable ballast to an already hefty compliation. The fourth disc features pianist Eddie Boyd, a bittersweet to bitchy pianist and singer who cut his teeth working with Johnny Shines and Sonny Boy Williamson. Boyd's inclusion in this four-CD box makes it one hell of a dose of unfiltered, undiluted Chicago blues.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/2006
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065776220
catalogNumber: 7762
Rank: 130406


Disc 1

  1. Now I Got the Blues
  2. Don't Ration My Love
  3. Mistake in Life
  4. Grinder Man Blues
  5. Slim's Boogie
  6. Little Mary
  7. Cheatin' Around
  8. A Letter Home
  9. Kilroy Has Been Here
  10. Rockin' This House
  11. Lend Me Your Love
  12. Darling I Miss You
  13. Pacemaker Boogie
  14. (Sometimes I Feel Like A) Motherless Child
  15. Harlem Bound
  16. Life Is Like That
  17. Nobody Loves Me
  18. Believe I'll Settle Down
  19. Throw This Poor Dog a Bone
  20. Help Me Some
  21. Country Girl
  22. Blue and Lonesome
  23. Angel Child
  24. Midnight Jump
  25. Messin' Around

Disc 2

  1. You and I
  2. Timsy's Whimsy
  3. Frisco Bay
  4. Restless Nights
  5. If You Live That Life
  6. Love at First Sight
  7. Jumping Bean
  8. A Letter Home
  9. Grinder Man Blues
  10. Slim's Boogie
  11. Mistake in Life
  12. The Girl I Love
  13. Mean Little Woman
  14. Train Is Comin'
  15. The Question
  16. Drivin' Me Mad
  17. Never Let Me Love
  18. Train Time
  19. Blue Evening
  20. No Mail
  21. Gonna Need My Help Someday
  22. Back Alley
  23. Living the Life I Love
  24. The Come Back
  25. 5 O'Clock Blues
  26. Call Me Before You Go Home

Disc 3

  1. This Is My Lucky Day
  2. I Love My Baby
  3. Wish Me Well
  4. Four Years of Torment
  5. Sassy Mae
  6. Blue and Lonesome
  7. Memphis Slim U.S.A.
  8. She's Alright
  9. Two of a Kind
  10. Got to Find My Baby
  11. Blues All Around My Head
  12. Treat Me Like I Treat You
  13. My Country Gal
  14. Lowland Blues
  15. Savoy Boogie
  16. Candy Man Blues
  17. Why Should I Cry
  18. Drivin' Wheel
  19. Rock It
  20. West Helena Blues
  21. Mail Box Bloues
  22. Winter Time Blues
  23. Blues 'N' Boogie
  24. Green Onion Top
  25. Wonderin' Blues

Disc 4

  1. I Had to Let Her Go
  2. Kilroy Won't Be Back
  3. You Got to Leave That Gal
  4. Rosa Lee Swing
  5. Unfair Lovers
  6. Blue Monday Blues
  7. Why Did She Leave Me
  8. Playmate Shuffle
  9. Mr. Highway Man
  10. Getting My Divorce
  11. What Makes These Things Happen to Me
  12. Baby What's Wrong with You
  13. Chicago Is Just That Way
  14. Eddie's Blues
  15. I Can Trust My Baby
  16. Down Beat Rhythm
  17. Something Good Will Come to Me
  18. Why Don't You Be Wise Baby
  19. I Gotta Find My Baby
  20. Lonesome for My Baby
  21. I'm Goin' Downtown
  22. Hard Headed Woman
  23. It's Miserable to Be Alone
  24. Five Long Years
  25. Blue Coat Man

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Memphis Slim   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Eddie Boyd   Piano,Vocals
Willie Dixon   Bass,Vocals
Matt "Guitar" Murphy   Guitar
Roosevelt Sykes   Piano,Vocals
Alex Atkins   Alto Saxophone
Percell Brockenborough   Tenor Saxophone
Bill Casimir   Tenor Saxophone
Lee Cooper   Guitar
Ernest Cotton   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Ernest "Big" Crawford   Bass
Alfred Elkins   Bass
John Frazier   Bass
Neil Green   Tenor Saxophone
Charles Jenkins   Bass
Ransom Knowling   Bass
Willie James Lacey   Guitar
Oscar Larkin   Drums
L.C. McKinley   Guitar
Henry Taylor   Bass
Percy Walker   Drums
Booker T. Washington   Drums
Sam Casimir   Guitar
Cozy Eggleston   Tenor Saxophone
Leon Hooper   Drums
Oett "Sax" Mallard   Alto Saxophone
Timothy Overton   Tenor Saxophone
Terry Timmons   Vocals
Howard Dixon   Alto Saxophone
Curtis Mosley   Bass
Nelson Berry   Tenor Saxophone
James Clark   Piano
Otho Allen   Drums
Armand Jump Jackson   Drums

Technical Credits

Eddie Boyd   Composer
Roosevelt Sykes   Composer
Neil Slaven   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews