Desperation Blues EP

Desperation Blues EP

by Jamie N Commons


Born in Bristol, England, Jamie N Commons moved with his family to Chicago when he was six, and for the eight years or so he lived there, he fell heavily under the influence of the blues and Southern American roots music. He returned to England to study music in London at Goldsmiths in New Cross, finally emerging in his early twenties with a hoarse, gravel-laced voice that belied his years and a dark, Americanized Southern swamp gospel blues vision of songwriting that made him sound at times like a slightly gothic version of Tom Waits. The six-song, Alex da Kid-produced Rumble and Sway is his second EP, and although there aren't a lot of tracks on it, one can feel Commons drifting closer to his own unique sound, with several of these cuts benefiting from the use of horns and brass, extending Commons' vision into bigger, deeper territory. The opening track, "Rumble and Sway," is a classic, with the brass touches giving it depth and a forward push at just the right moments. The second track, "Wash Me in the Water," is equally as strong, with a huge Southern gospel feel. Then there's the odd, striking concluding track, the Rick Rubin-produced "The Preacher," which comes complete with a spoken word Internet-themed "promo" spot in the middle, a bold move that takes a song that sounds like it came from the century before and tosses it firmly into the 21st century. Commons is on his way somewhere, and if Rumble and Sway feels like a transitional affair, it also feels like a good transition, pointing to the possibility of a masterpiece just around the bend.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/12/2013
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602537227440
catalogNumber: 001812732

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jamie N Commons   Primary Artist,Guitar,Percussion,Vocals,Background Vocals
C.C. Adcock   Guitar
Jon Cleary   Piano
George Cook   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Jonno Frishberg   Fiddle
Ben Castle   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Eg White   Synthesizer,Guitar,Drums,Background Vocals
Ed Harcourt   Background Vocals,Pump Organ
Yolanda Robinson   Background Vocals
Chris Storr   Trumpet
Kid Harpoon   Background Vocals
Charlie Stock   Viola
Gus Collins   Percussion,Piano,Background Vocals
Susie Gillis   Violin,Double Bass
Rhiannon Armstrong   Violin
Nicole Robson   Cello
J Browz   Guitar
M.J. Nunez   Slide Guitar
Mike Glozier   Drums
James Dee   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Gillian Bradtke   Violin
Benjamin Markham   Guitar,Percussion,Background Vocals
Jolynda Robinson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

John Hiatt   Composer
Eg White   Producer,Engineer
Ed Harcourt   Producer
Mark Bishop   Engineer
Steve Stacey   Art Direction
Jayson DeZuzio   Composer,Producer
Kid Harpoon   Composer
Darren Lawson   Engineer
Eliot James   Producer,Engineer
Francis White   Composer
Alex Da Kid   Producer,Executive Producer
Josh Mosser   Engineer
Alexander Grant   Composer
Hugh Worskett   Producer,String Arrangements
Jamie N Commons   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Benjamin Markham   Producer
Ben Brunell   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews