Rush Hour 2

Rush Hour 2


View All Available Formats & Editions


Many things can be said about Def Jam's Rush Hour 2 soundtrack, an album that is both impressive yet at the same time disappointing. The 17 songs here essentially function as a sampler, giving nearly every artist from Def Jam and Def Soul a moment in the spotlight. And given this approach, you can't help but be impressed by Def Jam's deep pool of talent: Ludacris, Method Man, Redman, Montell Jordan, Keith Murray, LL Cool J, Musiq, and just as many up-and-coming artists such as teen pop singer Christina Milian. Furthermore, Def Jam hires some of the industry's top producers -- Swizz Beatz, Jazzy Pha, Teddy Riley, the Neptunes, Rodney Jerkins -- and some other big-money artists such as Snoop Dogg, Scarface, Nate Dogg, and Macy Gray. Unfortunately, despite all the talent, there aren't many standout moments. Teddy Riley's two songs -- "Party and Bullshit" and "Figadoh" -- are probably the biggest disappointments. The legendary producer tries to lay down some Neptunes-meet-Timbaland-crossed-with-Swizz-style beats, but you can't help feeling that he's desperately struggling to remain relevant. Similarly, LL Cool J sounds incredibly outdated rapping over a club-ready Swizz beat on "Crazy Girl." Still, there are two absolutely stunning moments here that arguably compensate: Ludacris and Nate Dogg's "Area Codes" and Hikaru Utada and Foxy Brown's "Blow My Whistle." The former seems almost effortless but is incredibly catchy -- partly because of its simplicity, partly because of Nate Dogg, but mostly because of Jazzy Pha's inventive sampling of "Do It (Til You're Satisfied)." The latter is yet another can't-miss production by the Neptunes, featuring scorching rhymes by Brown and some wonderfully sung hooks courtesy of Utada. So even if most of this soundtrack ultimately results in disappointment, these two golden moments may be reason enough for many to seek this out. [The clean version censors the album's profane moments.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/31/2001
Label: Umvd Labels
UPC: 0731453827523
catalogNumber: 538275

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Slick Rick   Track Performer
Gerald Levert   Drums,Keyboards
Snoop Dogg   Track Performer
Randy Bowland   Guitar
LL Cool J   Track Performer
Joe Little   Drums,Keyboards
Kandice Love   Track Performer
Method Man   Track Performer
Keith Murray   Track Performer
Jason Weaver   Vocals
Tim Perkins   Vocals
Francesco Romano   Guitar
Nate Dogg   Track Performer
Jazze Pha   Vocals
Esbjörn Öhrwall   Guitar
Thomas Lindberg   Bass
Bloodshy   Recorder
Gavin   Vocals
Jill Scott   Track Performer
Vidal Davis   Drums
Ludacris   Track Performer
J Moss   Vocals
Christina Milian   Vocals
Hikaru Utada   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Gerald Levert   Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Larry Gold   String Arrangements
Michael Koch   Vocal Tracking
George Mayers   Engineer
Daryle Swann   Producer,Engineer
Tommy Uzzo   Engineer
Jason Weaver   Arranger
Kathy Nelson   Executive of Soundtracks
Jazze Pha   Producer
Todd Fairall   Engineer
Paul Broucek   Music Executive
Jan Fairchild   Engineer
Pharrell Williams   Arranger,Instrumentation
Paul Foley   Engineer
Andre Harris   Producer
Rockwilder   Producer
Dana Stinson   Composer
Lyor Cohen   Executive Producer
Kevin Liles   Executive Producer
Brett Ratner   Executive Producer
Chad Hugo   Arranger,Instrumentation
Macy Gray   Producer
Warryn Campbell   Producer
Ivan "St. Ives" Walker   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Bloodshy   Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Mitch Rotter   Soundtrack Executive Producer
Vidal Davis   Producer,Engineer
Andrew Coleman   Engineer
Ryan West   Engineer
J Moss   Producer
Michael Woodrum   Engineer
Fredro Starr   Producer
Christina Milian   Vocal Arrangements
Nathaniel Hale   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews