by Ace HoodAce Hood


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


After gaining a sizable audience with his debut album, Gutta, Ace Hood returned just seven months later with a more polished follow-up, the mistitled Ruthless. For those desiring the more radio-friendly side of the gruff rapper, the album offers plenty of bedroom numbers and club tracks along with a big list of superstar guests, including Akon, Lloyd, Rick Ross, and T-Pain. For everyone else, this is too much too soon and awfully inconsistent, with some swagger numbers succeeding splendidly (the highly infectious "Loco with the Cake" or maybe "Born an OG," with Ludacris in full party mode) while others just fail (the bland "Champion"). To his credit, Hood dominates "Overtime" even with Akon and T-Pain as guests, and on the closing "Make a Toast" he brings the guts, sounding like the unforgiving victor he was on Gutta. If the sound quality were rougher and the attitude looser, this would come off as one of those mixtapes where collabos and lesser tracks pacify the faithful in between official albums. The casual listener should just check the hits.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/30/2009
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0602527090511
catalogNumber: 001306602
Rank: 157948

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ace Hood   Primary Artist
Ivan "Orthodox" Barias   Keyboards
Lenny Mollings   Guitar
Johnnie "Smurf" Smith   Keyboards
Runners   Keyboards
Kevin Cossom   Background Vocals
Adrian P. Taylor   Bass

Technical Credits

Pat Thrall   Engineer
Dan Russo   Engineer
Christopher "Tricky" Stewart   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Deborah Mannis-Gardner   Sample Clearance
Chris Atlas   Marketing
Bojan Dugich   Engineer
Ivan "Orthodox" Barias   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Carvin "Ransum" Haggins   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Lenny Mollings   Producer,Engineer
DJ Ohzee   Audio Production
DJ Nasty   Audio Production
Aliaune "Akon" Thiam   Composer
Jazmine Sullivan   Composer
The-Dream   Composer,Audio Production
Ben Diehl   Engineer
Kali Khaled   Executive Producer
Runners   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Executive Producer,Audio Production
Jeff "Supa Jeff" Villanueva   Engineer
Alex Haldi   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Cardiak   Audio Production
Christy Hall   Audio Production
Kevin Cossom   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Johnny Mollings   Composer
Monarch   Audio Production
Dean Metzler   Producer
Schife   Audio Production
P. Kyser   Composer
O. Zayas   Composer
L. Rush   Composer
G4 Music   Audio Production
G. Jasmin   Composer
Dean Metzler   Audio Production
D. Metzler   Composer
D. Lubin   Composer
C. McCormick   Composer
S. Davidson   Composer
L. Elliott   Composer
W. Roberts   Composer
L. Mollings   Composer
A. Harr   Composer
Christopher Bridges   Composer
L.V.M.   Audio Production
Inkredibles   Audio Production
M. Carpenter   Composer
A. Davidson   Composer
K. Cox   Composer
K. Ramsey   Composer
I. Lewis   Composer
J. Jackson   Composer
B. Williams   Composer
Brian "B-Luv" Thomas   Engineer
Jeremy Felton   Composer
Antoine McColister   Composer
Lloyd Polite   Composer
Fahim Najm   Composer

Customer Reviews