Saturday Night at the Movies

Saturday Night at the Movies

by The Overtones


The Overtones have a pretty good thing going. A rags-to-stardom story, the group's five distinct voices and soaring five-part harmonies combine with contemporary recording techniques to make the classic R&B, doo wop, and pure vocal pop material they favor sound like something more than nostalgia or a facsimile, which isn't as easy a thing to pull off as it sounds. This set, their third album, features songs that were all prominent parts of various movies (there are also three original songs here that instead use movies as a central compositional theme), and again the group uses several different producers, and again the final product is unified in sound, although it does verge on dance club disco at times. The group's fans are going to love it. Highlights include a doo wop-inspired version of "Pretty Woman" complete with horns and background vocal "shoop shoops," a fully orchestrated "Moon River," a feisty "Hit the Road Jack" with a guest vocal spot from Beverley Knight, and an energetic "Runaway," but if the Overtones' formula works, and it works surprisingly well sometimes, it's because the songs the group chooses to cover are such classics, and the approach, which updates them rather than replicates them, allows the group to escape simple cover band nostalgia status.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/12/2013
Label: Warner Bros Uk
UPC: 0825646400881
catalogNumber: 4640088

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Overtones   Primary Artist
Jeff Daly   Baritone Saxophone
Adrian Meehan   Drums
Beverley Knight   Vocals
Marc Parnell   Drums
Tim Powell   Keyboards
Ben Castle   Tenor Saxophone
Richard Milner   Piano,Wurlitzer
Trevor Mires   Trombone
Kieran Jones   Keyboards
Julian Hinton   Piano,Hammond Organ
Tom Rees-Roberts   Trumpet
Ricci Riccardi   Percussion,Drums
Nial Tompkins   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Nylon String)
James Hunt   Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Colin Graham   Trumpet
Nichol Thomson   Trombone
Danny Marsden   Trumpet
Lester Barnes   Strings
Mark Franks   Vocals,Background Vocals
Darren Everest   Vocals,Background Vocals
Nick Southwood   Rhythm Guitar,Tambourine,Ukulele
Michael Crawshaw   Vocals,Background Vocals
Timmy Matley   Vocals,Background Vocals
Simon Bloor   Bass,Electric Guitar
Andrei Basirov   Keyboards
Tony "Rico" Richardson   Saxophone
Lachie Chapman   Vocals,Background Vocals
Henry Durham   Bass,Rhythm Guitar,Hammond Organ

Technical Credits

Percy Mayfield   Composer
Henry Mancini   Composer
Neil Sedaka   Composer
Roy Orbison   Composer
Del Shannon   Composer
Andre Williams   Composer
Bobby McFerrin   Composer
Mort Shuman   Composer
Gerry Goffin   Composer
Konk   Vocal Engineer
Barry Mann   Composer
Terry Gilkyson   Composer
Berry Gordy   Composer
Howard Greenfield   Composer
Isham Jones   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Matt Kemp   Engineer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Doc Pomus   Composer
Jeremy Wheatley   Producer
Bill Dees   Composer
Verlie Rice   Composer
Overtones   Composer
Tim Powell   Composer,Programming,Producer
Otis Hayes   Composer
Anthony Leung   Vocal Engineer
Graham Archer   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Kieran Jones   Programming
Julian Hinton   Programming,Producer,Orchestral Arrangements
Karen Poole   Composer
Nick Southwood   Producer,Vocal Engineer
David Etherington   Composer
Max D Crook   Composer
Scott Knapper   Vocal Engineer
Adam Looker   Vocal Engineer
Andrei Basirov   Programming
Lachie Chapman   Whistle
Tom Fuller   Vocal Engineer
Wendyhouse   Vocal Engineer
Cynthia Neil   Composer
Cameron Gower-Poole   Programming,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews