Scarecrow [Bonus Track]

Scarecrow [Bonus Track]

by John MellencampJohn Cougar Mellencamp

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks / Repackaged)

$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Uh-Huh found John Mellencamp coming into his own, but he perfected his heartland rock with Scarecrow. A loose concept album about lost innocence and the crumbling of small-town America, Scarecrow says as much with its tough rock and gentle folk-rock as it does with its lyrics, which remain a weak point for Mellencamp. Nevertheless, his writing has never been more powerful: "Rain on the Scarecrow" and "Small Town" capture the hopes and fears of Middle America, while "Lonely Ol' Night" and "Rumbleseat" effortlessly convey the desperate loneliness of being stuck in a dead-end life. Those four songs form the core of the album, and while the rest of the album isn't quite as strong, that's only a relative term, since it's filled with lean hooks and powerful, economical playing that make Scarecrow one of the definitive blue-collar rock albums of the mid-'80s. [In 2005 Universal remastered and reissued the album and included the B-side acoustic version of "Small Town." Of all the reissues in this series, this small bonus sheds light on what went into the full-blown single version, adding depth and weight to Mellencamp's seemingly simple celebration of the dignity of mainstream and rural American life. The mandolin break, slightly out of tune, comes just after a back-porch singalong bridge; it gives the entire thing a chilling authenticity that seems to suggest that the singer is attempting to convince no one, not even himself, that this truth is, if not self-evident, at least one of serene resignation.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine & Thom Jurek

Product Details

Release Date: 05/24/2005
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0602498812396
catalogNumber: 000451202
Rank: 2705

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Mellencamp   Primary Artist,Vocals
Ry Cooder   Slide Guitar,Guest Appearance
Rickie Lee Jones   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Kenny Aronoff   Drums,Tambourine,Vocals,Background Vocals,Vibes,Group Member
John Cascella   Keyboards,Guest Appearance
Larry Crane   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Richard Fanning   Trumpet,Guest Appearance
Sarah Flint   Vocals,Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Mimi Mapes   Vocals,Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Laura Mellencamp   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Toby Myers   Electric Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Mike Wanchic   Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
A. Jack Wilkins   Saxophone,Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Greg Edward   Engineer
Don Gehman   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
George Green   Composer
John Mellencamp   Composer
Vartan   Art Direction
Bob Cato   Art Direction
Ross Alexander   Engineer
Little Bastard   Audio Production
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
G.M.G.   Liner Notes
J.C.M.   Author

Customer Reviews