Scratch My Back

Scratch My Back

by Peter GabrielPeter Gabriel


$16.59 $17.99 Save 8% Current price is $16.59, Original price is $17.99. You Save 8%.


Peter Gabriel's Scratch My Back is the first in a series of projects in which Peter and other leading artists reinterpret each other's songs.

To help craft his album's eclectic array of cult favourites and classic tracks, Peter enlisted former Durutti Column member John Metcalfe, producer Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd's The Wall, Lou Reed's Berlin), and engineer, mixer, and producer Tchad Blake (Suzanne Vega, Sheryl Crow, Tom Waits).

Peter describes this as a very personal record with twelve songs performed only with orchestral instruments and voice. He made the choice not to include guitar or drums.

The album's richly diverse sounds include the sparse romance of Lou Reed's "The Power of the Heart," the powerful musical journey of Elbow's "Mirrorball," and an epic arrangement of Arcade Fire's "My Body Is A Cage." From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 03/02/2010
Label: Real World Prod. Ltd
UPC: 0180030000178
catalogNumber: 17

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Peter Gabriel   Primary Artist,Piano
Jason Rebello   Piano
Dan Jenkins   Trombone
Ian Belton   Violin
Paul Cassidy   Viola
Richard Edwards   Trombone
Helen Kamminga   Viola
Chris Laurence   Double Bass
David Powell   Tuba
William Schofield   Cello
Jackie Thomas   Cello
Richard Bissell   Horn
Andrew Crowley   Trumpet
Tracy Holloway   Trombone,Euphonium
Ian Humphries   Violin
Richard Watkins   Horn
Richard Henry   Bass Trombone
Everton Nelson   Violin
Jeremy Morris   Violin
Péter Pejtsik   Conductor
Fiona Bonds   Viola
Ian Burdge   Cello
Gordon Laing   Contrabassoon
John Metcalfe   Viola
Chris Worsey   Cello
Richard George   Violin
Dave Lee   Horn
Richard Steggall   Horn
Helen Paterson   Violin
Ben Russell   Double Bass
Richard Pryce   Double Bass
Daniel Newell   Trumpet
Elisabeth Varlow   Viola
Melanie Gabriel   Vocals
Martin Burgess   Violin
Claire Hayes   Violin
Andy Blyth   Treble Vocals
Tom Cawley   Piano
Clive Driskill-Smith   Choir Conductor
Márta Melis   Viola
Sarah Burnett   Bassoon
Rick Koster   Violin
Matt Scrivener   Violin
Oliver Winstone   Tenor (Vocal)
Ben Foster   Conductor
Alice Neary   Cello
Jonathan Stainsby   Bass (Vocal)
Louisa Fuller   Violin
Christ Church Cathedral Choir, Oxford   Choir, Chorus
Peter Hanson   Violin
Jason Robello   Piano
Mark Frost   Bass Trombone
Eliza Marshall   Flute
Ben Laxton   Treble Vocals
Bárdos Bori   Violin
Melinda Csámpai   Violin
Paul Mayes   Trumpet
Ösz Aletta   Violin
Nagy Krisztina   Violin
Molnár Zsótia   Violin
Mitchell Keeley   Treble Vocals
Mártha Zsuzsa   Violin
Markócs Mária   Violin
Láng András Vadák Katalin   Viola
Kovács Erika   Violin
Julian Hartley   Treble Vocals
Janzsó Gergely   Violin
Jamie Blinko   Treble Vocals
James Flewellen   Counter Tenor (Vocal)
Hugo Janacek   Counter Tenor (Vocal)
Ed Tarrant   Trombone,Euphonium
Will Dawes   Bass (Vocal)
Varasdi Tünde   Viola
Tim Lines   Clarinet
Stoltz Adrienn   Violin
Rupert Harris   Treble Vocals
Ryota Sakai   Treble Vocals
Steve Morris   Violin

Technical Credits

David Bowie   Composer
David Byrne   Composer
Peter Gabriel   Arranger,Producer,Original Design Concept
Randy Newman   Arranger,Composer
Lou Reed   Composer
Paul Simon   Composer
Neil Young   Composer
Brian Eno   Composer
Bob Ezrin   Producer
Nick Ingman   Arranger,Orchestration
Steve Orchard   Engineer
Rob Bozas   Publishing Coordinator
Colin Greenwood   Composer
Jonny Greenwood   Composer
Ed O'Brien   Composer
Phil Selway   Composer
Stephin Merritt   Composer
Forere Motloheloa   Composer
Will Gregory   Arranger
Richard Chappell   Engineer
Thom Yorke   Composer
Guy Garvey   Composer
John Metcalfe   Arranger,Engineer,Orchestration
Craig Potter   Composer
Mark Potter   Composer
Pete Turner   Composer
Richard Jupp   Composer
William Butler   Composer
Regina Spektor   Composer
Olga Fitzroy   Pro-Tools
Jeremy Gara   Composer
Win Butler   Composer
Régine Chassagne   Composer
Richard Reed Parry   Composer
Timothy Kingsbury   Composer
Justin Vernon   Composer
Tamás Kurina   Engineer
Louisa Fuller   Orchestra Leader
Attila Kölcsény   Engineer
Marc Beesant   Graphic Design,Original Design Concept

Customer Reviews