Pub. Date:
University of California Press
Selected Correspondence of Charles Ives / Edition 1

Selected Correspondence of Charles Ives / Edition 1

by Charles Ives, Tom OwensCharles Ives


Current price is , Original price is $85.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


This authoritative volume of 453 letters written by and to composer Charles Ives (1874-1954) provides unparalleled insight into one of the most extraordinary and paradoxical careers in American music history. The most comprehensive collection of Ives's correspondence in print, this book opens a direct window on Ives's complex personality and his creative process. Though Ives spent much of his career out of the mainstream of professional music-making, he corresponded with a surprisingly large group of musicians and critics, including John J. Becker, Henry Bellamann, Leonard Bernstein, John Cage, Aaron Copland, Henry Cowell, Ingolf Dahl, Walter Damrosch, Lehman Engel, Clifton J. Furness, Lou Harrison, Bernard Herrmann, John Kirkpatrick, Serge Koussevitzky, John Lomax, Francesco Malipiero, Radiana Pazmor, Paul Rosenfeld, Carl Ruggles, E. Robert Schmitz, Nicolas Slonimsky, and Peter Yates.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780520246065
Publisher: University of California Press
Publication date: 06/14/2007
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 414
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 10.00(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Tom C. Owens is Associate Professor of Music at George Mason University.

Table of Contents

list of illustrations

1. childhood, hopkins, and yale (1881–1903)
2. courtship and marriage (1907–1908)
3. call and response (1911–1936)
4. health (1907–1954)
5. collaborators and champions (1923–1933)
6. travel (1930–1938)
7. editors and performers (1933–1944)
8. final years (1945–1954)

appendix: list of letters and formats
selected bibliography

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"This is the most informative and revealing direct line to Charles Ives and his context since John Kirkpatrick's edition of the Memos came out in 1972."—Gramophone

Customer Reviews