Selected Recordings (Rarum XIX)

Selected Recordings (Rarum XIX)

by Arild AndersenArild Andersen

CD(Remastered / Digi-Pak)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2


Bassist Arild Andersen may not be one of ECM's best-known bandleaders (to Americans, that is), but that hasn't stopped him from amassing an impressive catalog as one of the label's senior statesmen. Andersen himself comments in the liner notes at how fortunate and surprised he was when looking back over his catalog and realizing how many younger players graced his sides. The evidence, however, is that Andersen is too humble: his guidance is like a beacon in bringing the best out of many who would become leaders in their own right. A fine example is on "Vanilje," which opens the album and comes from the Masqualero album. Here Andersen, Jon Balke, and drummer Jon Christensen host two stunning players on the front line, young saxophonist Tore Brunborg and a fresh-faced Nils Petter Molvaer on trumpet. The veteran trio led by Andersen's trademark melodic rhythmic attack brings the horn players to the fore and creates a wide space for them to explore and articulate harmonically. Elsewhere, as on "Svev," from his trio date with Ralph Towner and Nana Vasconcelos, Andersen appears not as an equal third but as the negotiator between rhythm and melody, the axis on which the two poles revolve. From the Molde Concert disc, on which the bassist is teamed with Bill Frisell, fusion drummer Alphonse Mouzon, and pianist John Taylor, Andersen plays his double bass as the true forceful foil for Frisell's angular urgency and Taylor's modal inquiry, but it is Andersen's solo where he offers his bop chops, which steal the tune. Featuring 13 tracks, there are more selections on this set than on most of the Rarum titles, and that's a good thing, as it showcases the wildly diverse settings -- all of them successful -- in which Andersen has placed himself in order to articulate an ambitious and varied vision.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/16/2004
Label: Ecm Import
UPC: 0044006659824
catalogNumber: 066598
Rank: 74948

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Arild Andersen   Primary Artist,Electric Bass,Double Bass
Naná Vasconcelos   Percussion,Voices
Alphonse Mouzon   Drums
Ralph Towner   Guitar
Kenny Wheeler   Flugelhorn
Juhani Aaltonen   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Jon Balke   Piano,Electric Piano
Lars Jansson   Synthesizer,Piano
Kenneth Knudsen   Keyboards
Knut Riisnæs   Flute
Steve Dobrogosz   Piano
Frode Alnæs   Guitar
Jon Christensen   Drums
Bill Frisell   Guitar
Bendik Hofseth   Tenor Saxophone
John Marshall   Drums
Paul Motian   Drums
John Taylor   Piano
Pål Thowsen   Drums
Paolo Vinaccia   Drums
Bugge Wesseltoft   Keyboards
Nils Petter Molvær   Trumpet
Tore Brunborg   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Vassilis Tsabropoulos   Piano
Morten Hannisdal   Cello
Kirsten Braten Berg   Vocals
Henrik Hannisdal   Violin
Odd Hannisdal   Violin
Marek Konstantynowicz   Viola

Technical Credits

Masqualero   Producer
Arild Andersen   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Manfred Eicher   Producer
Bill Frisell   Composer
Jan Erik Kongshaug   Engineer
Tore Brunborg   Composer
Traditional   Composer

Customer Reviews