Selige Stunde: Romantic Songs

Selige Stunde: Romantic Songs

by Jonas KaufmannJonas Kaufmann


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Tenor Jonas Kaufmann and pianist Helmut Deutsch recorded this album in April of 2020, at the height of the coronavirus pandemic in Germany; studios were closed, and the recording location is specified only as Munich. It lies somewhere between a full-fledged new Kaufmann release, always something to be celebrated, and the relaxed home recordings some artists have released during the pandemic. One would think that the sound might have suffered, but instead, it benefits. Where a studio recording might have fussily concerned itself with trying to mute the rough edges creeping into Kaufmann's voice in his early 50s, here, he delivers a relaxed recital in confines that may well have resembled those for which most of these songs were intended. The results are all to the good. Kaufmann and Deutsch offer a collection of songs that combine hits like Schubert's "Wandrers Nachtlied II, D. 768," with the likes of "Still wie die Nacht" of Carl Bohm (not Karl Böhm), an attractive essay in the Schubert style occasionally brought out by Fritz Wunderlich. The program is roughly in an arc shape moving forward from Schubert to the late 19th century and then back again, overshooting effectively to Mozart. The booklet is in the format of a conversation between Kaufmann and Deutsch, and the package overall does a remarkable job of inviting the listener into a connoisseur's evening of song as one might have been presented a century and a quarter ago. In its way, an ideal response to the pandemic.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/04/2020
Label: Sony Masterworks
UPC: 0194397832624
catalogNumber: 19439783262
Rank: 16170


  1. Der Musensohn ("Durch Feld und Wald zu schweifen"), song for voice & piano, D. 764 (Op. 92/1)  (02:10)
  2. Adelaide, song for voice & piano, Op. 46  (05:58)
  3. Zärtliche Liebe, song for voice & piano, WoO 123  (01:39)
  4. Ännchen von Tharau (Annie of Tharau), for chorus  (03:18)
  5. Auf Flügeln des Gesanges (On Wings of Song), song for voice & piano, Op. 34/2  (02:44)
  6. Jeg elsker dig! (I Love Thee!), song for voice & piano, Op. 5/3  (02:27)
  7. Es muss ein Wunderbares sein, song for voice & piano, S. 314 (LW N49)  (01:36)
  8. Widmung ("Du meine Seele, du mein Herz"), song for voice & piano (Myrthen), Op. 25/1  (02:06)
  9. Der Jüngling an der Quelle ("Leise, rieseln der Quell"), song for voice & piano, D. 300  (02:06)
  10. Still wie die Nacht, for voice & orchestra, Op. 326/27  (02:47)
  11. Zueignung ("Ja, du weisst es, teur Seele"), song for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 10/1 (TrV 141/1)  (01:44)
  12. Selige Stunde, for voice & piano, Op. 10/2 (from "Ehetanzlied and Other Songs")  (02:01)
  13. In mir klingt ein Lied, song (after Chopin's Etude in E major, Op. 10/3)  (02:03)
  14. Verschwiegene Liebe ("Über Wipfel und Saaten"), song for voice & piano (Eichendorff Lieder)  (02:16)
  15. Songs my mother taught me (Als die alte Mutter), song for voice & piano, B. 104/4 (Op. 55/4) (Gypsy Melodies)  (02:08)
  16. Allerseelen ("Stell' auf den Tisch die duftenden Reseden"), song for voice & piano, Op. 10/8 (TrV 141/8)  (02:52)
  17. Da unten im Tale, folk song for voice & piano, WoO 33/6  (01:48)
  18. None but the lonely heart, song for voice & piano, Op. 6/6  (02:55)
  19. Das Veilchen, song for voice & piano, K. 476  (02:28)
  20. Sehnsucht nach dem Frühling ("Komm, lieber Mai"), song for voice & piano, K. 596  (01:52)
  21. Gruß ("Leise zieht durch mein Gemüt"), song for voice & piano, Op. 19a/5  (01:24)
  22. Die Forelle ("In einem Bächlein helle"), song for voice & piano, D. 550 (Op. 32)  (02:14)
  23. Mondnacht ("Es war als hätt der Himmel..."), song for voice & piano (Liederkreis), Op. 39/5  (04:20)
  24. Wiegenlied ("Guten Abend, gut Nacht"), song for voice & piano, Op. 49/4  (01:53)
  25. Wandrers Nachtlied ("Über allen Gipfeln ist Ruh"), song for voice & piano, D. 768 (Op. 96/3)  (02:00)
  26. Verborgenheit ("Lass, o Welt, o lass mich sein"), song for voice & piano (Mörike Lieder)  (02:40)
  27. Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen, song for voice & piano (or orchestra) (Rückert Lieder No. 3)  (06:29)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews