Send Away the Tigers [10 Year Collectors Edition] [CD & DVD]

Send Away the Tigers [10 Year Collectors Edition] [CD & DVD]

by Manic Street Preachers

CD(Special Edition / Bonus DVD)

$15.11 $15.99 Save 6% Current price is $15.11, Original price is $15.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, January 27
4 New & Used Starting at $15.08


Like many long-term relationships, Manic Street Preachers benefited from some time apart, as their seventh album, Send Away the Tigers, makes plain. Arriving on the heels of 2006 solo albums from both singer/guitarist James Dean Bradfield and lyricist/bassist Nicky Wire, Send Away the Tigers finds the group recharged and revitalized, achieving the widescreen grandeur of Everything Must Go but infusing it with a harder rock edge that may not be as furious as their earliest work, but is no less committed. This surging sense of purpose was conspicuously absent on the Manics' previous albums, which grew increasingly mannered in their attempts at majestic pop, culminating in the pleasant but too soft Lifeblood. It's hard to call Tigers soft -- it thunders even in its quietest moments, and when strings or keyboards are brought in, they're drowned out by guitars. This doesn't sound like a desperate measure; it sounds like recommitment on the part of the Manics, especially since they haven't abandoned the melodic skills they've honed over the past decade. They've merely melded them to muscular yet mature rock & roll. It's that commitment to hard rock that makes Send Away the Tigers bracing upon its initial listen, but what makes it lasting is the songs, which may lack anthems on the level of "A Design for Life," but they're something better: they're small-scale epics, roiling with drama and coiled with tension, flirting with being overblown but kept grounded by the group's reclaimed righteousness and newfound sense of control. That leanness applies to the album overall as well -- where every Manics record since Everything Must Go grew increasingly over-stuffed, this has no flab, and its ten songs have a relentless momentum. It's still pretty bombastic -- the Manics were never about subtlety -- but the sweeping gestures are delivered with a sense of efficiency that makes Send Away the Tigers never seem heavy-handed, which is something that even their best albums often are. So, this isn't merely a return to form, then -- it's also a welcome progression from a band that only a couple of albums back seemed stuck in a rut with no way out. [In 2017, Send Away the Tigers was released in a two-CD/DVD Tenth Anniversary Collectors Edition featuring the remastered original album plus demos, a bonus disc of B-sides and rare tracks, and a DVD including the band's set at Glastonbury, promo videos, and rehearsal footage.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2017
Label: Sin Uk
UPC: 0889854164324
catalogNumber: 416432
Rank: 48236


Disc 1

  1. Send Away the Tigers
  2. Welcome to the Dead Zone
  3. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough
  4. Indian Summer
  5. The Second Great Depression
  6. Rendition
  7. Autumnsong
  8. I'm Just a Patsy
  9. Imperial Bodybags
  10. Winterlovers
  11. Working Class Hero
  12. Send Away the Tigers
  13. Underdogs
  14. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough
  15. Indian Summer
  16. The Second Great Depression
  17. Rendition
  18. Autumnsong
  19. I'm Just a Patsy
  20. Imperial Bodybags
  21. Winterlovers

Disc 2

  1. Leviathan
  2. Umbrella
  3. Ghost of Christmas
  4. Boxes and Lists
  5. Love Letter to the Future
  6. Little Girl Lost
  7. Fearless Punk Ballad
  8. Your Love Is Not Enough
  9. Red Sleeping Beauty
  10. The Long Goodbye
  11. Morning Comrade
  12. 1404
  13. The Vortices
  14. Autumnsong
  15. Anorexic Roding
  16. Heyday of the Blood
  17. Foggy Eyes
  18. Lady Lazarus
  19. You Know This It's Going to Hurt

Disc 3

  1. You Love Us
  2. Motorcycle Emptiness
  3. You Stole the Sun From My Heart
  4. Faster
  5. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough
  6. Everything Must Go
  7. From Despair to Where
  8. Autumnsong
  9. Ocean Spray
  10. If You Tolerate This, Your Children Will Be Next
  11. La Tristesse Durera (Scream to a Sigh)
  12. Imperial Bodybags
  13. Motown Junk
  14. A Design for Life
  15. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough
  16. Your Love Alone Is Not Enough
  17. Autumnsong
  18. Autumnsong
  19. Indian Summer
  20. Track by Track
  21. Rehearsals, Cardiff, March 2007
  22. Practice Sessions

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Manic Street Preachers   Primary Artist
James Dean Bradfield   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Sally Herbert   Violin
Sean Moore   Percussion,Drums
Nicky Wire   Bass,Background Vocals
Sean Read   Keyboards
Andrew Waters   Violin

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Composer
Manic Street Preachers   Composer
Dave Eringa   Producer,Additional Production
Sally Herbert   String Arrangements
Calvin Johnson   Composer
Heather Lewis   Composer
Valerie Phillips   Direction
Christopher "Tricky" Stewart   Composer
Greg Haver   Producer,Additional Production
Guy Massey   Engineer
Shawn Carter   Composer
Bret Lunsford   Composer
The-Dream   Composer
Andrew Waters   String Arrangements
Nathan Persson   Engineer
Loz Williams   Producer,Engineer
John Hardwick   Video Director
Patrick Jones   Director
Thaddius Harrell   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews