Shine on Brightly [Deluxe Edition] [3 CD]

Shine on Brightly [Deluxe Edition] [3 CD]

by Procol HarumProcol Harum


$34.91 $34.99 Save 0% Current price is $34.91, Original price is $34.99. You Save 0%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


After the multi-million selling "A Whiter Shade of Pale," Procol Harum coalesced around a new lineup and cut a debut album in two days, the sales of which were only fair (because the hit song wasn't on it originally). Then they did Shine on Brightly, which initially drew on recordings going back to late 1967 -- in the course of preparing their first proper LP, the band junked an entire side of blues-based numbers in favor of the 18-minute suite "In Held 'Twas I," which rivaled anything yet heard from such established progressive rock outfits as the Nice or the Moody Blues in length and surpassed them in audacity, with an extensive spoken part surrounded by virtuoso classical and psychedelic passages (and even a featured spot for Dave Knights' bass). It all proved that they were more than a one-hit wonder and, released in late 1968, the album extended the definition of progressive rock, even as it kept much of the music rooted in established rock genres. "Skip Softly," for all of its grand piano pyrotechnics, was also a showcase for Robin Trower's bluesy, high-energy guitar attack, and "Wish Me Well" was an even better vehicle for his instrument, while "Magdalene (My Regal Zonophone)" was an interesting exercise in nostalgia highlighted by Matthew Fisher's organ. [A three-CD Deluxe Edition was released in 2015, featuring a remastered version of the original Shine on Brightly; the album's 1968 mono mix; and 20 bonus tracks (nine of which were previously unreleased), including studio sessions, single mixes, and BBC radio sessions.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/07/2015
Label: Esoteric Antenna
UPC: 5013929460041
catalogNumber: 32500
Rank: 51278

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Procol Harum   Primary Artist
Robin Trower   Guitar
Gary Brooker   Piano,Vocals
Matthew Fisher   Hammond Organ
David Knights   Bass Guitar
B.J. Wilson   Percussion

Technical Credits

Gary Brooker   Composer
Matthew Fisher   Composer
Terry Brown   Engineer
Gerald Chevin   Engineer
Denny Cordell   Producer
Glyn Johns   Engineer
Keith Grant   Engineer
Alan O'Duffy   Engineer
Eddy Offord   Engineer
Keith Reid   Composer
Dave Siddle   Engineer
Vic Smith   Engineer
Mike Weighell   Engineer
Henry Scott-Irvine   Liner Notes
George Underwood   Sleeve Design
Phill Brown   Engineer
Mogol   Composer
Howard Parker   Sleeve Design

Customer Reviews