Shuffle, Repeat

Shuffle, Repeat

by Jen Klein

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.
 
Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.
 
Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

"Addictive. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sarah Dessen will enjoy this sweet romance." --SLJ

"An entertaining and even touching romance." --Kirkus Reviews

"Wonderfully readable, this lively first-person narrative is satisfying from the first fractious car ride right down to the unabashedly happy ending. A fine romance." --Booklist

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780553509847
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 05/03/2016
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 165,564
Lexile: HL700L (what's this?)
File size: 4 MB
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

JEN KLEIN lives in Los Angeles with her husband and a menagerie of little boys and animals, all of whom are unruly and ill-behaved. Besides writing YA novels, Jen is also an Emmy-nominated TV writer, currently writing on the series Grey’s Anatomy. Visit her online at jenkleinbooks.com and follow her on Twitter at @jenkleintweets.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shuffle, Repeat 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is just an outstanding book. The author is wonderful at writing. Please buy this book it's awesome!!!
QueenAlchemy More than 1 year ago
This was a darling little "opposites attract" young adult romance story. It was absolutely adorable and heartwarming. It touched upon insecurities, friendships, personal principles, falling in and out of love, and navigating the unpredictable atmosphere of high school. I really adored the characters in this book. June and Oliver were wonderful and I loved the chemistry that they had with each other. I liked that they had a loose background since their mothers are best friends. They didn't really run in the same circles at school, but they knew each other. I loved watching their friendship grow. At first, Jen came off as snotty towards Oliver because he was a popular football player and was friends with a foul boy that she couldn't stand. Oliver was always gracious with her and they quickly ease into a friendship while he drives her to school each morning. I loved the cast of side characters as well. We get to see June's group of friends and also Oliver's group of friends and then June and Oliver mingle into each other's friend groups as time goes on. June's character growth in the book is refreshing. At the beginning, she is closed minded and set in her ways about high school not having any meaning. Oliver opens her up to new experiences and a new perspective and June changes her outlook, though she fights it. The plot of the story was decent. I would have liked a little more conflict, but overall I enjoyed it. A bet was made between June and Oliver at the beginning to see who could prove their point about high school having meaning (Oliver's side) or not having meaning (June's side). Each time one of them would prove their point throughout the school year they would get the honor of adding a song to their joined playlist for their ride to school. It was pretty competitive, at least at first, since they listen to completely different music and can't stand the others' taste in music. And at this point in the book, they need this playlist because the conversation in the car is awkward on the long drive to school. The one thing that I felt needed more in this book was better reasoning or more evident reasoning why June feels the way she does about high school not having meaning. And also why she would not learn to drive. We find out the reason for not driving by the end of the book, but I would have preferred it a lot sooner in the story so that I could have connected with June better at the beginning. While I never disliked her character, it was sometimes hard to understand why she felt the way that she did about high school being meaningless. I just felt that there needed to be more there. The romance was a severely slow-burn romance. Most of the book was a buildup to the romance. Both Oliver and June have significant others throughout most of the book so it really focused on their growing friendship for most of the book. June gradually starts to realize her feelings for Oliver after she breaks up with her boyfriend, but he is still with his girlfriend and she almost feels like saying something wouldn't be worth it because of her belief that things in high school don't last or matter in the end. They don't actually come together until the very end of the book. It's beautiful, of course, but the actual romance in the story is a blip on the radar compared to the build up. Overall, this was an adorable book that I could not put down for a moment. I think that this book is very relevant for kids in high school because of the contras
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED this book i read it so fast because it was just THAT good u have to read it the structure of it everything was amazing
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
The idea of arguing over music sold me on this book and I was so excited to get my hands on it. Love love loved June and Oliver. She a bit cynical and he's so over the top happy and it's mildly hilarious watching them have at it. The banter is strong, the swoons are even stronger, and I've never been so in love and so outraged with a turn of a page. Shaun, Darbs, and Lily are great secondary characters and I wish they wouldn't have been in the periphery, but at the same time, it was an effective way to show how June felt like she was an outsider. There are some seriously awesome parents. Some icky ones too, but a strong show from June's mom and another set {who shall remain nameless because spoilers} that just made my day with one line about a house in the suburbs. Overall, a super cute and super quick read. I'll definitely be coming back to this when I need a pick me up. **Huge thanks to Random House for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review**
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
June knows with every fiber of her being that high school doesn't matter. The friends she makes, the traditions, the classes--none of it matters in the long run. At the start of her senior year of high school, June already has her eye on starting college when her real life can begin. Oliver loves high school. He revels in the rituals like prom and sports, the traditions like senior pranks. Oliver plans to make the most of his high school experience and be able to look back on every moment fondly when he gets older. June and Oliver have known each other for years, an annoying side effect of their mothers being best friends. But they don't get to know each other until the start of their senior year when their mothers arrange for Oliver to drive June to school. Every day. Awkwardly quiet drives slowly begin to shift to heated debates about music, musings about life, and more. As they get to know each other, both June and Oliver will have to decide if young love has a place in a world where high school doesn't much matter. Unless maybe it does . . . in Shuffle, Repeat (2016) by Jen Klein. In this standalone contemporary, Klein throws together complete opposites and explores what might happen next. Despite much of this story taking place during car rides, Shuffle, Repeat has a strong sense of place with evocative descriptions of June and Oliver's quaint town. June and Oliver are both white but the book is filled with a varied cast of misfits among their unique groups of friends. June's best friend--a gay boy with Indian family--gets an especially heartwarming side story throughout the novel. Philosophical discussions about what matters in life contrast well with vocal discussions of music and classic high school moments (the book begins with June nervously making her way to prom and then backtracks to the start of the school year). June is an often abrasive first-person narrator. She is not afraid to state her opinions and she is stubborn when those convictions are challenged. She jumps to conclusions and is, frankly, judgemental when it comes to her preconceived notions about Oliver. But Shuffle, Repeat isn't about June being right all the time. Instead, through her relationship with Oliver and generally moving through the school year, June begins to realize she might have been wrong about a lot of things. Shuffle, Repeat is a smart story with a fun romance. Snappy dialogue, an honest-to-a-fault narrator, and plenty of senior year shenanigans make this a great summer read. Recommended. Possible Pairings: Never, Always, Sometimes by Adi Alsaid, The Best Night of Your (Pathetic) Life by Tara Altebrando, Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom, A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody, Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham, To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han, P. S. I Like You by Kasie West