The Signet Classic Book of Mark Twain's Short Stories

The Signet Classic Book of Mark Twain's Short Stories

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


For nearly two decades before Mark Twain published his finest novel, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, he was refining his craft and winning tremendous popularity with his short stories and sketches. This richly entertaining and comprehensive collection presents sixty-five of the very best of Mark Twain’s short pieces, from the classic frontier sketch “The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County” to the richly imaginative fable “Extract from Captain Stormfield’s Visit to Heaven.” Compiled by Pulitzer Prize–winning Twain scholar and biographer, Justin Kaplan, this collection represents some of Mark Twain’s wittiest and most insightful writing.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101099933
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 05/02/2006
Series: Signet Classics Series
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 832
Sales rank: 500,376
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Mark Twain was born Samuel Langhorne Clemens in Florida, Missouri, in 1835, and died in Redding, Connecticut in 1910. Although he left school at twelve when his father died, he was eventually awarded honorary degrees from Yale University, the University of Missouri, and Oxford University. His career encompassed such varied occupations as printer, Mississippi riverboat pilot, journalist, travel writer, and publisher. He made fortunes from his writing, but toward the end of his life he went bankrupt and undertook a round-the-world lecture tour in order to pay off his creditors. He lives in American letters as one of our greatest humorists and novelists, the writer whom William Dean Howells called “the Lincoln of our literature.”
Justin Kaplan is the author of Mr. Clemens and Mark Twain, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award; Mark Twain and His World; Lincoln Steffens; and Walt Whitman: A Life. In 1985, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His final book was When the Astors Owned New York. He died in 2014.
Debbie Macomber’s first book was published by Silhouette in 1982, and today she has more than seventy million books in print. Among her many New York Times bestselling titles are A Good Yarn, The Shop on Blossom Street, 44 Cranberry Point, a Quill Book Award winner, and Mr. Miracle.

Date of Birth:

November 30, 1835

Date of Death:

April 21, 1910

Place of Birth:

Florida, Missouri

Place of Death:

Redding, Connecticut

Customer Reviews