Skull Ring

Skull Ring

by Iggy PopIggy Pop


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


There's really no reason -- save some Picture of Dorian Gray-styled deal with the dark forces -- why Iggy Pop should be able to crank himself up as high as he does while knocking on the door of Social Security. Nevertheless, Skull Ring delivers 16 tracks of vintage, fully adrenalized Iggy -- with the added bonus of a full-blown Stooges reunion on a handful of its tracks. Those tunes, unsurprisingly, are the disc's best, fueled by Ron Asheton's impeccably gnarled gutter-rat guitar phrasing and Scott Asheton's brass-knuckled drumming. Hunkering down with his old bandmates apparently had quite an impact on the Ig himself, judging by the amount of sneer and snot he pours into "Dead Rock Star" and "Little Electric Chair." He meets and greets with a fair number of his acolytes on the disc as well, communing with Green Day on the pedal-to-the-metal "Private Hell" and jousting merrily with the slightly less heavy-leaning Sum 41 fellas on the springy "Little Know It All." For good measure, Iggy enlists next-generation envelope-pusher Peaches for a pair of tracks, notably the irresistibly profane "Rock Show." Proof positive that playing golf in Florida doesn't necessarily lead to long-term mellowing.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/04/2003
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0724358077421
catalogNumber: 80774
Rank: 47054

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Iggy Pop   Primary Artist,Vocals
Peter Marshall   Bass,Group Member
Ron Asheton   Bass,Guitar,Group Member
Scott Asheton   Drums,Group Member
Tre Cool   Drums,Group Member
Stooges   Group
Mike Dirnt   Bass,Group Member
Billie Joe Armstrong   Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Alex Kirst   Drums,Group Member
Whitey Kirst   Guitar,Group Member
Sum 41   Group
Taylor Savvy   Lap Steel Guitar,Group Member
Deryck Whibley   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Dave Baksh   Guitar,Group Member
Cone McCaslin   Bass,Group Member
Steve Jocz   Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Iggy Pop   Composer
Peter Marshall   Composer
Ron Asheton   Composer
Scott Asheton   Composer
Chris Carroll   Engineer
Jos Grain   Roadie
John Ewing   Engineer
Greig Nori   Composer,Producer
Mudita Ostrin Nisker   Composer
Billie Joe Armstrong   Composer
Michael "Elvis" Baskette   Engineer
Alex Kirst   Composer
Whitey Kirst   Composer
Sean Smith   Art Direction
Deryck Whibley   Composer
Chris Dugan   Engineer
Henry McGroggan   Tour Manager
Merrill Nisker   Composer

Customer Reviews