Small Town Talk: Bob Dylan, The Band, Van Morrison, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix and Friends in the Wild Years of Woodstock

Small Town Talk: Bob Dylan, The Band, Van Morrison, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix and Friends in the Wild Years of Woodstock

Audio CD(Unabridged CD)

$40.41 $42.99 Save 6% Current price is $40.41, Original price is $42.99. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions
1 New & Used Starting at $36.29


When musicians in the New York folk scene of the 1960s grew tired of city life, they decided to "get it together in the country." They headed for Woodstock-not the site of the infamous music festival of 1969 but to the Catskills, to Bearsville, to Woodstock proper. Counterculture revolutionaries like Janis Joplin, Richie Havens, and Paul Butterfield got "back to the land," turning the once sleepy hollow into a funky Shangri-La.

Small Town Talk tells the town's musical history, from its earliest days as a bohemian arts colony to its ongoing life as a cultural satellite of New York. Woodstock, the bucolic artists' enclave, has earned its place in rock music history; Small Town Talk is a classic study of a vital music scene in a magical place during a revolutionary time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781515904373
Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc.
Publication date: 03/29/2016
Edition description: Unabridged CD
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 5.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Barney Hoskyns is a music historian, editorial director of the online music-journalism library Rock's Backpages, and author of Hotel California, Lowside of the Road: A Life of Tom Waits, and an oral history of Led Zeppelin. He lives in London.

Mike Chamberlain is an actor and voice-over performer, as well as an AudioFile Earphones Award-winning audiobook narrator. Along with animation and video game characters, Mike performs narration and voices promos for television. He lives with his wife and daughter in Southern California.

Table of Contents

Prologue: into the mystic 1

Rock & roll Woodstock: a guide 9

Part 1 A place i'd feel loose 11

1 The uneasy alliance 13

2 Folk songs of the catskills 23

3 Inside albert grossman 30

4 "The greatest place" 41

5 Boy in the bubble 51

6 Something is happening 59

Part 2 Going up the country 71

7 Hundred and forty dollar bash 73

8 Frankie and judas 86

9 Something to feel 93

10 Paint my mailbox blue 102

11 Everybody's apple pie 113

12 Combination of the two 120

13 Brand new days 134

14 Some way out of here 142

15 Back to the garden 150

16 He's not here 165

17 Oh lord won't you buy me a mercedes benz 179

Part 3 Dangerous fun 193

18 If you build it 195

19 The shape they're in 207

20 Music among friends 216

21 The ballad of todd and albert 230

22 "Creativity and ferment" 241

23 In a good place now 249

24 "Dope, music, and beauty" 262

25 A hermit, a true star 275

26 Tuesday night fever 291

27 Forbidden fruit 301

28 Broken heart 313

Epilogue: "how does that old song go?" 323

Coda: didn't he ramble 338

Take your pleasure: 25 timeless tracks 347

Acknowledgments 348

Bibliography 351

Notes 362

Index 381

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews