by Terry Myers


$10.44 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.44, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 27


Terry Myers has been an active jazz musician for decades, yet this 2010 Arbors CD seems to be only his second as a leader. Recruiting several label regulars, including pianist Johnny Varro, bassist Joel Forbes, and drummer Ed Metz, Myers primarily sticks to tenor sax throughout the date, offering one lyrical gem after another, tackling warhorses like "A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square," "Them There Eyes," and "Everything Happens to Me" with a beautiful tone that recalls the jazz masters of the 1940s. His robust tenor sounds great over Forbes' walking bass introduction to a brisk "It's You or No One." Myers switches to soprano sax for several selections, including a lighthearted "Someday Sweetheart," a breezy "Oh, Baby" (also showcasing Forbes' walking bass), and a peppy "As Long as I Live," the latter with inspired accompaniment by the seasoned Varro. The rhythm section delivers everything Myers needs during this impromptu session, producing memorable music that will stand the test of time.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/12/2010
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941140521
catalogNumber: 19405
Rank: 88253

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Terry Myers   Primary Artist,Clarinet,Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Ed Metz   Drums
Johnny Varro   Piano
Joel Forbes   Bass

Technical Credits

Gordon Jenkins   Composer
Matt Dennis   Composer
Buddy Morrow   Liner Notes
Harold Arlen   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Jim Czak   Engineer
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Gary McFarland   Composer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Bob Russell   Composer
Jule Styne   Composer
Terry Myers   Producer,Liner Notes
Joe Bishop   Composer
Alan Nahigian   Cover Photo
Owen Murphy   Composer
Mat Domber   Executive Producer
Rachel Domber   Executive Producer
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Tom Adair   Composer
Eric Maschwitz   Composer
Manning Sherwin   Composer
Doris Tauber   Composer
William Tracey   Composer
John Spikes   Composer
Luke Melton   Cover Design
J. Will Callahan   Composer
Robert Katscher   Composer
Benjamin Spikes   Composer
Bill Moss   Engineer
Lee C. Roberts   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews