Soft Power

Soft Power

by Doe PaoroDoe Paoro


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Making an about-face from the cinematic synth textures of her two previous outings, Los Angeles' Doe Paoro aims for a classic singer/songwriter approach on Soft Power, her soulful third album. The New York native, whose real name is Sonia Kreitzer, has been somewhat of a musical shape-shifter over the years, initially adopting elements of dubstep, experimental folk, electronica, and even Tibetan opera into her work. Following 2015's highly synthetic After, which saw her collaborating with Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and S. Carey, the more organic piano pop of Soft Power comes across as some of the most straightforward work of Paoro's career. Her primary collaborator this time is Grammy-winning producer Jimmy Hogarth, whose work with retro-minded acts like Amy Winehouse and Duffy frequently serves as a guidepost to these sessions, which were largely captured live to tape. With its tonal nods to Carole King, classic soul, and even '60s girl group fare, Soft Power is still a contemporary pop record at its core, with modern sounds and thematic concepts woven into its dynamic pop. Paoro's smoky voice lends itself well to bluesy dark-hued rockers like "Cage of Habits" and "Guilty," with their bold brass-adorned arrangements, while the breezier "Loose Plans" captures the classic soulful warmth of a relationship ballad. The giant chorus of "Fading into Black" has all the swelling dynamics of a modern pop song, while "The Vine" has a dreamy minimalism with its murky David Lynch-ian guitar bed. Behind Paoro is a crack session band adding its collective weight of studio experience to a set that remarkably boasts a different co-writer for each song. With such an extensive team involved, there tends to be a little bit of that committee feeling here and there, but as a whole, Soft Power stands as Paoro's strongest album to date.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/19/2018
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778758326
catalogNumber: 87583
Rank: 183071

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doe Paoro   Primary Artist,Vocals
Sam Dixon   Bass
Mary Pearce   Background Vocals
Martin Slattery   Organ,Piano,Horn
Leo Abrahams   Guitar
Jimmy Hogarth   Guitar,Percussion
Ryan Gilligan   Trumpet
Brandon Walters   Guitar
Wynne Bennett   Keyboards
Russell Manning   Bass
Aaron Steele   Drums
Shruti Kumar   Keyboards
Dan McDougall   Drums

Technical Credits

Jimmy Messer   Composer
Jimmy Hogarth   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Matt Hales   Composer
Daniel Nigro   Composer,Additional Production
Justin Raisen   Composer
Wynne Bennett   Composer,Producer
Micah Gordon   Composer
Krishna Fitzpatrick   Logo
Doe Paoro   Composer
Logan White   Cover Photo
Shruti Kumar   Composer,Additional Production
Mikey Freedom Hart   Composer
Viktor Bälter-Lundin   Composer
Leggy Langdon   Composer
Enrico Policardo   Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews