Something Grand

Something Grand

by Shrimp BoatShrimp Boat


$28.95 $29.99 Save 3% Current price is $28.95, Original price is $29.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Making one's way through this sprawling four-disc box set -- three time-period-based albums and a bonus disc of tracks from all periods -- one is dizzied, aggravated, awed, irritated, bludgeoned, and humored into accepting this document as something that stands far outside the official indie rock histories. Shrimp Boat, a Chicago band that existed between 1986-1993, had a shifting lineup, and in its last two years an expanding one. Founding (and only constant) members Ian Schneller and Sam Prekop fashioned a music that served them well, ultimately, in the Sea and Cake, but they also directly influenced Chicago's indie scene forever and acts like Liz Phair, Tortoise, the Handsome Family, and Falstaff generally and genuinely acknowledge that debt. To read the whole story, dig deeply into the 52-page booklet that accompanies this handsomely packaged set. Album number one contains 17 tunes and was recorded between 1986 and 1988. This is the sound of a playful chaos, as willing to dig into the musical ideas of Ornette Coleman and John Cage as it was the pre-indie lo-fi ethos. "Songs" are found, discovered, stolen from silence, and hacked from noise. Vibe and adventure were the name of the game; the band tried things for no other reason than it was possible. It's an abrasive set, but it's funny as hell and it was all recorded on four-track audio. Disc two is the bridge, where sound and feel and craft begin to wind their way into the band's identity. Recorded live on 16-track, here is where there are actual strengths to be displayed -- from Prekop's preponderance of textures and insinuations with this voice and guitar, to Schneller's chord voicings and lead lines playing intuitively and instinctively to draw the song out of the experiment. There are lovely and jarring moments here, such as on "Kickball," recorded at Chicago's Cabaret Metro in May of 1992, or in Schneller's cover of the Carter Family's "You Are My Flower," where he recorded everything himself, or perhaps "London Dew," from a radio broadcast in 1990 with Brad Wood playing a lovely soprano saxophone. Disc three, while it has its sense of playfulness and twisted glee everywhere in evidence, is actually a focused set of songs pointing in the direction of the Sea and Cake and Falstaff. Elements of airy harmonies, less frenetic rhythms, and an expansive sense of songcraft are endearing here, not to mention the savvy pop skill displayed by Prekop and Schneller. Elements of country, blues, jazz, edgy jangle, and the feeling of a monkey wrench being tossed in so things don't get uptight push this material up to the realm of a kind of art in a cheeky orgy of sound. As wild as some of this material is -- and it gets crazier on the fourth disc where everything is simply mashed up together -- it's never pretentious. Its primitivism early on is what made the whole thing so believable in the first place. One cannot hear music by Fred Lonberg-Holm, or even later Gastr del Sol, without hearing traces of Shrimp Boat in the mix somewhere. Highly recommended for anyone interested in secret histories.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/2004
Label: Aum Fidelity
UPC: 0642623302828
catalogNumber: 28
Rank: 92678


Disc 1

  1. Rocks Are Oil
  2. Pillar’s Pond
  3. Born In A Sour
  4. Bumblebees
  5. Collecting Me
  6. Only Making Fools
  7. Shimmy
  8. Mimi
  9. Sourwood Mt.
  10. Melon Song
  11. Some Change
  12. I Can’t Wait
  13. In A Fever
  14. The Way It Is
  15. Basin Slip
  16. Ollie’s Song
  17. “65”

Disc 2

  1. Hey Buddy
  2. Between Your Knees
  3. Watched Pot
  4. Krazy Keys
  5. London Dew
  6. Wonderful
  7. Warzone
  8. You Are My Flower
  9. Sanchez River
  10. Charm Lost
  11. How Sweet She
  12. Anna E
  13. Medea Rising
  14. She Ra
  15. Kickball
  16. Fuzzy Trem
  17. Limerick Dub

Disc 3

  1. Honeyside
  2. Those Hookers
  3. Truck
  4. Steam
  5. Motorcade
  6. Slave Reel
  7. Shoes
  8. Well I Love My Baby
  9. I Don’t Mind The Bums
  10. Weeping Into A Pond
  11. Shrimpcore
  12. Porgy
  13. Hand Is On The Wheel
  14. Drought of ‘43
  15. Columbo
  16. Mudpin
  17. Sultan’s Eyes

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shrimp Boat   Primary Artist
John Jennings   Accordion
Oliver North   Spoken Word
Brad Wood   Bass,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Soprano Saxophone,Dubs,Group Member
Sam Prekop   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Cello,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Kalimba,Upright Bass,Dubs,Group Member
Ian Schneller   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Trumpet,Accordion,Drums,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Wind,Human Whistle,Slide Guitar,Dubs,Group Member
David Kroll   Banjo,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Dubs,Group Member
Joe Vajarsky   Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Eric Claridge   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Mark Gooch   Guitar
Tom Jasek   Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Carter Family   Composer
Shrimp Boat   Composer,Producer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Ian Schneller   Producer,Instrumentation
David Kroll   Paintings
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Steven Joerg   Producer,Liner Notes
Colin Studybaker   Engineer
Walter Andersons   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews