Songbook [Deluxe Edition]

Songbook [Deluxe Edition]

by Allen ToussaintAllen Toussaint

CD(Special Edition / Bonus DVD)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Allen Toussaint experienced a late-career revival sparked, ironically enough, by the devastation of Hurricane Katrina in 2005. He had to leave his hometown New Orleans after the hurricane, relocating to New York City where he started to play regular gigs at Joe's Pub and, soon enough, he cut The River in Reverse with Elvis Costello. That 2006 album propelled Toussaint toward a greater audience, leading to more headlining concerts, two of which are chronicled on Rounder's 2013 release Songbook. Recorded in 2009 at Joe's Pub, Songbook features nothing more than Toussaint alone at a piano running through songs he's written over the decades. He sprinkles in a New Orleans standard here and there -- there's an excellent rendition of "St. James Infirmary" -- but the spotlight is on his peerless originals, songs that are standards in their own right: "Lipstick Traces (On a Cigarette)," "Holy Cow," "Get Out of My Life, Woman," "Yes We Can," a medley of "A Certain Girl/Mother-in-Law/Fortune Teller," "Southern Nights." Toussaint's voice sounds smooth and silky -- he in no way seems as if he's in his seventies -- and his piano is similarly nimble as it glides from signature New Orleans stride and boogie to sophisticated, elegiac chords. Perhaps this album packs no revelations -- there are no rearrangements, nothing unexpected in the songs -- but as an elegant summation of strengths, this Songbook is mighty attractive. [The Deluxe Edition included a second disc and a total of 50 tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/24/2013
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661915428
catalogNumber: 1166191542
Rank: 86283


Disc 1

  1. Introduction
  2. It's Raining
  3. Lipstick Traces
  4. Allen Speaks
  5. Brickyard Blues
  6. With You In Mind
  7. Who's Gonna Help Brother Get Further
  8. Sweet Touch of Love
  9. Holy Cow
  10. Introduction To Get Out of My Life, Woman
  11. Get Out of My Life, Woman
  12. Freedom For the Stallion
  13. St. James Infirmary
  14. Introduction To Shrimp Po-Boy, Dressed
  15. Shrimp Po-Boy, Dressed
  16. Soul Sister
  17. All These Things
  18. We Are America/Yes We Can
  19. The Optimism Blues
  20. Old Records
  21. Certain Girl Medley: A Certain Girl/Mother-In-Law/Fortune Teller/Workin
  22. It's a New Orleans Thing
  23. I Could Eat Crawfish Everyday
  24. No Place Like New York
  25. Southern Nights

Disc 2

  1. Introduction
  2. Who's Gonna Help Brother Get Further
  3. Sweet Touch of Love
  4. Holy Cow
  5. Get Out of My Life, Woman
  6. St. James Infirmary
  7. Shrimp Po-Boy, Dressed
  8. Soul Sister
  9. All These Things
  10. We Are America/Yes We Can
  11. The Optimism Blues
  12. Old Records
  13. Certain Girl Medley: A Certain Girl/Mother-In-Law/Fortune Teller/Workin
  14. It's a New Orleans Thing
  15. I Could Eat Crawfish Everyday
  16. There's No Place Like New York
  17. Southern Nights
  18. Closing Credits
  19. Backstage Interview
  20. Studio Interview: Who's Gonna Help Brother Get Further
  21. Studio Interview: Lee Dorsey
  22. Studio Interview: Working In the Coal Mine
  23. Studio Interview: Vocal Arranging/Mother-Inlaw
  24. Studio Interview: All These Things
  25. Studio Interview: Freedom For the Stallion

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Allen Toussaint   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Sean McClintock   Engineer
Paul Siegel   Producer,Song Notes
Ashley Kahn   Essay
Hal Winer   Engineer
Glade Bilby   Cover Photo
Lisa Bernier   Stage Lighting
Kirk Nehring   Camera Operator
Jeff Turick   Camera Operator
Ian McGrew   Camera Operator
Gregory McKean   Video Editor,Video Director
Dan Welch   Camera Operator
Mike Bell   Authoring
Sabrina Braswell   Stage Lighting
Mike "Weezy" Mapes   Camera Operator

Customer Reviews