Songs for You, Truths for Me

Songs for You, Truths for Me

by James MorrisonJames Morrison
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 8


What separates James Morrison from fellow Brit singer/songwriters like James Blunt and Daniel Powter is his taste for soul. Sure, this may have been fostered in part by his fondness for Elton John -- whose presence is as inescapable in Morrison's music as it is in Blunt, Powter, or any number of modern-day pop troubadours -- but Morrison picks up on the splashy soul of John's middle-period, weaving in elements of Stevie Wonder and Van Morrison to create a retro-soul vibe that's more about the song than the groove. This is more true on Songs for You, Truths for Me than it was on his 2007 debut Undiscovered, as he piles on horn sections, sings with a gruff studied soulfulness, and even cribs from Van's "Crazy Love" on his own "Precious Love." All this soulman posturing can come across as a bit too earnest, but it does give Morrison a heft and measure of grit missing in the simpering Blunt, which lends Songs for You some pleasing sonic textures not all that dissimilar to John Mayer's Continuum, but Morrison isn't just about sound, he can construct good pop songs, especially when he goes for big, bright hooks, as he does on the '70s soul pastiche "Save Yourself" and "The Only Night," which recalls Elvis Costello in his Get Happy! phase. These talents kind of contradict the soul-baring promise of the album's title, but Morrison kind of drags when he gets into ballad territory, like the Nelly Furtado duet "Broken Strings." He's better on easy rolling numbers like "Please Don't Stop the Rain" or when he puts a bit of a kick in the tempo, as the energy accentuates his popcraft, which is more energetic, forceful -- and, yes, soulful -- than his peers, something that comes into sharp relief on this solid sophomore affair.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2008
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602517837560
catalogNumber: 001207002
Rank: 54048

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Morrison   Primary Artist
James Morrison   Vocals,Background Vocals
Alexander Abreu   Trumpet
David Angell   Strings,Violin
John Catchings   Cello
David Davidson   Violin
Charles Judge   Keyboards
London Session Orchestra   Strings
Steve Robson   Bass,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Glockenspiel,Keyboards,Melodica
Andy Ross   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
J. Neil Sidwell   Trombone
John Thirkell   Trumpet
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Kristin Wilkinson   Viola
Dan Wilson   Bass,Piano
Julia Waters   Background Vocals
Bruce White   Viola
Amaury Perez   Trombone
David Daniels [cello]   Cello
John Shanks   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Emma Kummrow   Violin
Igor Szwec   Violin
Gregory Teperman   Violin
Monisa Angell   Viola
Chris Elliott   Strings
Adam Phillips   Guitar
London Studio Orchestra   Strings
Ruth Frazier   Viola
Emlyn Singleton   Violin
Martin Terefe   Bass,Guitar,Wurlitzer
Nelly Furtado   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Eg White   Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Moog Bass
Dominic Glover   Trumpet
Eddie Fisher   Drums
Paul Barry   Bass,Wurlitzer
Jeremy McCoy   Bass
Jeff Rothschild   Drums
Seton Daunt   Guitar
Arnulf Lindner   Bass,Cello
Jennie Lorenzo   Cello
Paul "Beardy" Beard   Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Ryan Tedder   Piano,fender rhodes
Ghislaine Fleischmann   Violin
Mat Colman   Trombone
Mike A. Jarosz   Trumpet
Karl Brazil   Drums
Alex E. Smith   Bass,Guitar,Percussion
José Luís "Chewy" Hernández   Saxophone
Perry Montague-Mason   Violin
Kristoffer Sonne   Drums
Luigi Mazzocchi   Violin
Ayak Thiik   Background Vocals
Nikolaj Torp   Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Ash Soan   Drums
Rita Ora   Background Vocals
Love Sponge Strings   Strings
Jose Luis 'Chewy' Hernandez   Saxophone
Gregory Riley   Tenor Saxophone
Donovan Blackwood   Background Vocals
Neil Sidwell   Trombone
H.S. Alexandra Leem   Viola
Alex Smith   Percussion
Chris Farr   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Matt Gallagher   Trumpet
Mark Taylor   Percussion,Keyboards
Charles Parker   Violin

Technical Credits

Chris Braide   Composer
Martin Brammer   Composer
David Davidson   Arranger,String Arrangements
Steve Robson   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Ren Swan   Engineer
Dan Wilson   Composer
John Shanks   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Joaquin Betancourt   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Everton Nelson   Orchestra Leader
Neil Tucker   Engineer
Richard Flack   Engineer
Martin Terefe   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Bobby Shin   Engineer
Fraser T. Smith   Composer
Wayne Hector   Composer
Eg White   Producer,Audio Production
Richard Woodcraft   Engineer
Nina Woodford   Composer
Paul Barry   Composer
Jonathan Shakhovskoy   Engineer
Jeff Rothschild   Engineer
Cliff Masterson   Arranger
Dyre Gormsen   Engineer
Rob Haggett   Engineer
Ryan Tedder   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Alex E. Smith   Engineer
James Morrison   Composer
Colin Heldt   Engineer
Iain Hill   Engineer
Larry S. Gold   Arranger
Mark Taylor   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements,Audio Production

Customer Reviews