Songs from Ally McBeal

Songs from Ally McBeal

by Vonda ShepardVonda Shepard


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


For years, Vonda Shepard toiled in semi-obscurity, releasing two albums to a small cult audience. One of her fans happened to be David Kelley, a television producer of such hit television shows as L.A. Law, Picket Fences, and Chicago Hope. When he was creating Ally McBeal, an urban dramedy about an appealingly spunky and confused 20-something lawyer, he decided to have Ally's misadventures mirrored in songs by none other than Vonda Shepard. Ally McBeal became an unexpected hit and Shepard was suddenly in demand. Since none of her albums were easily available, it was smart business to make her first album for her new label 550 Music a collection of original tunes and covers she regularly performed in the show -- in other words, Songs from Ally McBeal. Only four of the songs, including the theme "Searchin' My Soul," are original Shepard numbers; the rest are smooth adult contemporary covers of '60s pop hits like "The End of the World," "Hooked on a Feeling," and "It's in His Kiss (The Shoop Shoop Song)." Some longtime fans may be distressed that the album only contains a handful of originals, but the preponderance of covers makes for a consistently enjoyable record that should be quite pleasing to Ally McBeal fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/05/1998
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646936528
catalogNumber: 69365
Rank: 9029

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Vonda Shepard   Primary Artist,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Valerie Carter   Background Vocals
Robert Becker   Viola
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Larry Corbett   Cello
Lynn Davis   Background Vocals
Lili Haydn   Violin
Andrew Kamman   Percussion,Drums
John Keane   Drums
Peter Kent   Violin
Vatrina King   Background Vocals
Michael Landau   Guitar
Greg Leisz   Pedal Steel Guitar
Val McCallum   Guitar,Mandolin,Background Vocals
Jean McLain   Background Vocals
John Pierce   Bass
Martin Tillman   Cello
Jim Hanson   Bass
Rob Ladd   Drums
Sy Smith   Background Vocals
Jeff Young   Hammond Organ,Background Vocals
Michele Richards   Violin

Technical Credits

Vonda Shepard   Producer
Pee Wee King   Composer
Redd Stewart   Composer
Michael Brown   Composer
Eddie DeLena   Engineer
Paul Dieter   Engineer
Michael Landau   Producer
R. Clark   Composer
Frank Harkins   Artwork
Tony Sansone   Composer
Chilton Price   Composer
Bob Calilli   Composer

Customer Reviews