Soul Eyes

Soul Eyes

by Vanessa RubinVanessa Rubin



Vanessa Rubin at the time of her Novus debut had been a high-school English teacher for seven years. This CD was a good start for her singing career although the results are a little mixed. Rubin displays an attractive voice (sounding great when holding long notes) but at this point in time ballads were not her strong point (on "When We Were One" she recalls Barbra Streisand). In addition, producer Onaje Allan Gumbs cannot resist gumming up the works in a few places with phony strings from his keyboards; he funks up what may be the initial vocal version of Mal Waldron's classic "Soul Eyes" along with a slower-than-usual "Giant Steps." On the plus side, Rubin's workout on a flagwaving "I've Got the World on a String" is enjoyable, the backup crew (which includes pianist Kirk Lightsey, trumpeter Eddie Allen and saxophonist Roger Byam) get occasional solos and the singer does a fine tribute to Sarah Vaughan on "Tenderly." This was a worthwhile debut but Vanessa Rubin's best work would be in the future.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/14/1992
Label: Novus
UPC: 0012416312721
catalogNumber: 63127


  1. I've Got the World on a String
  2. When We Were One
  3. Soul Eyes
  4. Tenderly
  5. Giant Steps
  6. Autumn
  7. Willow Weep for Me
  8. Voyager II
  9. Wait for Love
  10. Dearly Beloved

Album Credits

Customer Reviews