Soul of the South

Soul of the South

by Doug GrayDoug Gray


4 New & Used Starting at $2.99


After 30 years of speculation and rumor, Marshall Tucker Band frontman Doug Gray's solo album finally surfaces. Originally cut in 1981 for a solo deal he later rejected, it contains eight finished tracks from sessions starring the original members of MTB: Gray, Toy Caldwell, George McCorkle, Jerry Eubanks, and Paul Riddle (rhythm guitarist Tommy Caldwell had been killed in a car accident the year before), local Spartanburg musicians (including future MTB members Franklin Wilkie and Rusty Milner), and A-list Nashville studio aces Bob Wray, Mike Lawler, and Terry McMillan. In fact, these eight sides represent the only previously unreleased material by MTB. Produced and engineered by no less than all-star Billy Sherrill, these sides were meant to present Gray's voice in an utterly different setting than the MTB's. They succeed. The material is pop-soul from the era, including a reading of the 1969 Spiral Staircase hit "More Today Than Yesterday." Sherrill's idea of producing this kind of music was different from most producers of the period; he was used to working with chart-topping country artists like George Jones and Merle Haggard at the time. Gray's more than up to the task vocally, and the versatility of the MTB cats is astonishing. They rose to the material that was a universe away from the songs Toy Caldwell wrote for the band. Very slick and smooth, the set's best tracks include opener "Let Me Be the Fool," a midtempo pop-soul bubbler with old-school Stax-styled horns; Bobby Whitlock's "Guilty," with its spidery guitar and funky bassline, and the laid-back "Mr. Sandman." Ultimately, this will be a last piece of the puzzle for MTB completists, but anybody who appreciates the radio-friendly pop-soul grooves of the early '80s will find something here to enjoy. Soul of the South was a successful experiment; one can only speculate what might have transpired had Gray signed a solo deal and released it.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/05/2011
Label: Ramblin Records
UPC: 0826663123531
catalogNumber: 12353

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doug Gray   Primary Artist,Vocals
Toy Caldwell   Guitar
Jerry Eubanks   Horn
Ronnie Godfrey   Keyboards
Mike Lawler   Synthesizer
George McCorkle   Guitar
Terry McMillan   Conga
Paul Riddle   Drums
Franklin Wilkie   Bass
Bob Wray   Bass
Rusty Milner   Guitar
Dennis Solie   Saxophone
Cherry Sisters   Background Vocals
Michael Blithe   Synthesizer
John Boestlar   Guitar

Technical Credits

Michael Bolton   Composer
Dave Loggins   Composer
Roger Cook   Composer
Susan Hammond   Composer
Randy Goodrum   Composer
Doug Gray   Producer
Steven Chino Lewis   Composer
Billy Sherrill   Producer,Engineer
Bobby Whitlock   Composer
Barry Alfonso   Liner Notes
Earl Bud Lee   Composer
Ron Rainey   Executive Producer
Ralph Murphy   Composer
Patrick Upton   Composer
Patrick Henderson   Composer
Dee Marsis   Composer
Angela Hanna   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews