Sound of Silver

Sound of Silver

by LCD Soundsystem


$12.37 $13.99 Save 12% Current price is $12.37, Original price is $13.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 17


The first thing you hear on LCD Soundsystem's second album is something old -- the tinny drum machine pattern first used on their 2002 debut single, "Losing My Edge" -- but it's not because frontman James Murphy has run out of ideas. He's just displaying his wicked sense of humor, an aspect that, when paired with his knowing nods to the past, renders Sounds of Silver a disc that's as clever as it is infectious. That opening song, "Get Innocuous," quickly takes off in a new direction that reveals Murphy's latest bag of tricks; its layered instrumentation, polyrhythmic drumming, and dense harmonies suggest Brian Eno's late-'70s production work, so that the track comes off like a mash-up of Heroes and Remain in Light. Elsewhere, the anthemic "Us vs. Them" owes more than a little to Talking Heads' "I Zimbra." Yet Murphy is in such command it never feels like a rip-off. While Murphy's wit is on full display, the only moment here that revives the snarky party vibe of the first album is "North American Scum," which lifts its riff from Pete Shelley's "Homosapien" and casts Murphy as a Yank set loose in European countries where "the buildings are old and you might find lots of mimes." Sounds of Silver is not all arched eyebrows, however. The two best songs find Murphy in a somber mood: "All My Friends," with its insistent piano riff and New Order guitar, remembers more carefree days, while "Someone Great" is a eulogy set to a pulsing synth bass and icy keyboards. Despite these introspective moments, LCD Soundsystem are still primarily here to make you dance, peppering songs with such party favors as cowbell, bongos, and the world's funkiest instrument, the clavinet. Murphy is just a little more serious about it this time out.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/20/2007
Label: Parlophone (Wea)
UPC: 0094638511427
catalogNumber: 851144
Rank: 6420

Album Credits

Performance Credits

LCD Soundsystem   Primary Artist
Lorenza Ponce   Violin
Jane Scarpantoni   Cello
Justin Chearno   Guitar
Jane Scrapantoni   Cello
Tyler Pope   Bass,Guitar,Hand Clapping
David Gold   Viola
Nancy Whang   Vocals
James Murphy   Organ,Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Glockenspiel,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Clavinet,Hand Clapping,electronic percussion,Casio
Eric Broucek   Vocals,Hand Clapping
Marcus Lambkin   Hand Clapping
Morgan Wiley   Piano
Pat Mahoney   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Hand Clapping
Amy Kimball   Violin

Technical Credits

DFA   Producer,Audio Production
James Murphy   Programming
Mike Vadino   Art Direction
Keith Wood   Management

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sound of Silver 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago