Sounds of Goodbye

Sounds of Goodbye

by Gosdin BrothersGosdin Brothers


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Gosdin Brothers' obscure 1968 LP Sounds of Goodbye is an overlooked country-rock milestone, and one that owes as much to the sound of the 1966-1967 era Byrds as it does to country music. That's unsurprising, perhaps, given that the Gosdins helped out a lot on Gene Clark's debut solo album in 1967, and sometimes shared bills with the early Byrds, as they shared the same management. In truth, this will appeal far more to the early Byrds fan than to the straight country fan. That's not damning with faint praise, far from it; it's actually high praise. It's a fair guess, too, that anyone who likes Gene Clark's early work will enjoy this record, as it has a similar low-key, hurt, vulnerable mystique to the melodies, vocals, and harmonies. The material, though sometimes average, is also sometimes outstanding, as on "Love at First Sight," which actually comes quite close to the classic 1966 Byrds jangle rock sound; the melancholy, graceful "She's Gone," with the kind of unexpected compelling chord changes you'd expect from the Gene Clark songwriting school; and "The Victim," with its pungent burned-by-love lyrics, and an odd (though not displeasing) dash of psychedelic echo on the chorus. The covers cast an eclectic net ("Catch the Wind," "Let It Be Me," the Everly Brothers' "Bowling Green") and are not as distinctive as the originals, but even so there's an excellent reading of Ewan MacColl's "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face."

Product Details

Release Date: 11/25/2003
Label: Big Beat Uk
UPC: 0029667423526
catalogNumber: 235
Rank: 59862

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gosdin Brothers   Primary Artist
Mike Deasy   Guitar
Jerry Scheff   Bass
James M. "Jimmy" Troxel   Drums

Technical Credits

Clarence White   Composer
Doug Kershaw   Composer
Ewan MacColl   Composer
Vern Gosdin   Composer
Chris Hillman   Producer
Eddie Rabbitt   Composer
Donovan   Composer
Gilbert Bécaud   Composer
Don Hinson   Composer
Manny Curtis   Composer
Pierre Delanoë   Composer
Rex Gosdin   Composer
Eddie Hill   Composer
John Hurley   Composer
Ira Louvin   Composer
Charlie Louvin   Composer
Terry Slater   Arranger
Ronnie Wilkins   Composer
Bill Bailey   Liner Notes
James Paxton   Composer
Alec Palao   Liner Notes,Concept
Kenneth Johnson   Composer
Ira Allen   Composer
Jacqueline Ertel   Arranger
Dick Brown   Cover Photo
Traditional   Composer
Buddy Mize   Composer
Jan Paxton   Composer

Customer Reviews