Speak Low

Speak Low

by Boz Scaggs


View All Available Formats & Editions
6 New & Used Starting at $11.77


Speak Low, Boz Scaggs's 17th studio album, is a follow-up to 2003’s But Beautiful -- "a sort of progressive, experimental effort... along the lines of some of the ideas that Gil Evans explored," says Boz. Songs on the album include Chet Baker’s “She Was Too Good To Be True,” Johnny Mercer’s “This Time the Dream’s on Me,” the often recorded “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free” and the Kurt Weill/Ogden Nash title track. “I’m a vocalist,” Scaggs says. “I come more out of a blues/rhythm & blues background, but this is a different way of using my voice.” From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 10/28/2008
Label: Decca U.S.
UPC: 0602517843455
catalogNumber: 001202602

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Boz Scaggs   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Musician
Gil Goldstein   Piano,Accordion,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer,Musician
Bob Sheppard   Flute,Bass Clarinet,Bass Flute,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Musician
Alex Acuña   Percussion,Drums,Musician
Scott Colley   Bass,Bass Guitar,Musician
Lawrence Feldman   Alto Flute,Musician
Joyce Hammann   Violin,Concert Master,Musician
Aaron Heick   Bass Flute,Musician
Richard Locker   Cello,Musician
Mike Mainieri   Marimbas,Vibes,Musician
Lou Marini   Bass Flute,Musician
Lois Martin   Viola,Musician
Carol Robbins   Harp,Musician
Laura Seaton   Violin,Musician
Eric Crystal   Tenor Saxophone,Musician
Shane Shanahan   Tabla,Musician

Technical Credits

Kurt Weill   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Boz Scaggs   Producer,Audio Production
Gil Goldstein   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Alec Wilder   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Bronislaw Kaper   Composer
Ogden Nash   Composer
Aloysio de Oliveira   Composer
Gene DePaul   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Mike Pela   Producer,Engineer
Don Raye   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Gino Paoli   Composer
Ray Gilbert   Composer
Dann Michael Thompson   Engineer
James Minchin   Cover Photo
Rebecca Meek   Cover Design
Patricia Johnston   Composer
Fanny Gotschall   Cover Art Direction
Geoff Countryman   Vibe Master
Craig Fruin   Executive Producer
Ryan Doordan   Engineer
Leonard Hospidor   Vibe Master

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews