Stardust [30th Anniversary Legacy Edition]

Stardust [30th Anniversary Legacy Edition]

by Willie NelsonWillie Nelson


$19.31 $24.99 Save 23% Current price is $19.31, Original price is $24.99. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


At the height of outlaw country, Willie Nelson pulled off perhaps the riskiest move of the entire bunch. He set aside originals, country, and folk and recorded Stardust, a collection of pop standards produced by Booker T. Jones. Well, it's not entirely accurate to say that he put away country and folk, since these are highly idiosyncratic interpretations of "Georgia on My Mind," "All of Me," "Moonlight in Vermont," and "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," blending pop, country, jazz, and folk in equal measures. It's not that Willie makes these songs his own, it's that he reimagines these songs in a way that nobody else could, and with his trusty touring band, he makes these versions indelible. It may be strange to think that this album, containing no originals from one of America's greatest songwriters, is what made him a star, and it continues to be one of his most beloved records, but it's appropriate, actually. Stardust showcases Nelson's skills as a musician and his entire aesthetic -- where there is nothing separating classic American musical forms, it can all be played together -- perhaps better than any other album, which is why it was a sensation upon its release and grows stronger with each passing year. [In 2008 Columbia/Legacy released a deluxe editon of Stardust that included a second disc made up of 16 standards covered by Nelson over the years.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/01/2008
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886972908724
catalogNumber: 729087
Rank: 534

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Willie Nelson   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Gimble   Fiddle
Ray Charles   Vocals
Billy Gene English   Percussion
Steve Gibson   Guitar
Grady Martin   Guitar
Bobby Wood   Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Don Potter   Guitar
Mickey Raphael   Harmonica
Biff Adam   Drums
Ritchie Albright   Drums
Eddie Bayers   Drums
Andy Black   Background Vocals
Jon Blondell   Bass
Paul Buskirk   Fiddle,Guitar,Mandolin
Larry Byrom   Guitar
Gene Chrisman   Drums
Johnny Christopher   Guitar,Background Vocals
J.R. Cobb   Guitar,Background Vocals
Bobby Emmons   Keyboards
Paul English   Drums
Chris Ethridge   Bass,Bass Guitar
Sonny Garrish   Steel Guitar
Bill Ginn   Keyboards,Keyboard Accordian
Booker T. Jones   Organ,Piano
Jackie King   Guitar
Jana King   Background Vocals
Mike Leech   Bass,Bass Guitar
Rex Ludwick   Drums
Chips Moman   Guitar,Background Vocals
Monique Moman   Background Vocals
Tom Morrell   Pedal Steel Guitar
Farrell Morris   Percussion
Mark O'Connor   Fiddle
Bobby Ogdin   Piano
Sherrill Parks   Background Vocals
Larry Paxton   Bass
Jody Payne   Guitar
Freddy Powers   Fiddle,Guitar
Lisa Silver   Background Vocals
Bee Spears   Bass,Bass Guitar
Spencer Starnes   Bass
Clint Strong   Guitar
Karen Taylor-Good   Background Vocals
Karen Taylor   Background Vocals
D. Bergen White   Background Vocals
Toni Wine   Background Vocals
Rick Yancey   Background Vocals
Mark Yeary   Keyboards,Keyboard Accordian
Reggie Young   Guitar
Don Hass   Keyboards
Rex Ludwig   Drums
Dennis Hromek   Bass
Bobbie Nelson   Piano
Dean Reynolds   Bass
Lenaye Stanfield   Background Vocals
Bob Moore & His Orchestra   Bass
Bob Scott   Percussion,Drums
David Briggs   Synthesizer
Casey Moman   Background Vocals
Tony Wine   Background Vocals
Lenaye Stanfield   Background Vocals
Jimmy Belken   Fiddle
Freddie Powers   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Kurt Weill   Composer
Willie Nelson   Producer,Audio Production
Irving Berlin   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Leon Russell   Producer,Audio Production,Instrumentation
Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Fred E. Ahlert   Composer
Paul Buskirk   Producer
Susanna Clark   Cover Painting
Duke Ellington   Composer
Dorothy Fields   Composer
Fred Foster   Producer
Gregg Geller   Producer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Haven Gillespie   Composer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Booker T. Jones   Producer,Audio Production
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Chips Moman   Producer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Bob Russell   Composer
Bob Thiele   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
George David Weiss   Composer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Stuart Gorrell   Composer
Rich Kienzle   Liner Notes
Ted Koehler   Composer
Gerald Marks   Composer
Karl Suessdorf   Composer

Customer Reviews