Starting Out: The Grunfeld Defence

Starting Out: The Grunfeld Defence

by Jacob Aagaard

Paperback(First Edition)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


These books are perfect for enthusiastic chess players who are starting out in the game, and who are seeking to understand the basic principles behind these important openings: the Pirc/Modern and the Grünfeld. These 2 books are written in a user-friendly style with an abundance of notes, tips and warnings scattered throughout, while key strategies, ideas, and tactics for both sides are clearly illustrated.
The authors of these books are very skilled and experienced chess writers, who are used to writing for players of all levels and are renowned for their ability to explain ideas in a lucid and straightforward manner.
These books will be especially beneficial to those players who have previously sharpened their chess skills with the earlier books Starting Out in Chess, Tips for Young Players and Improve Your Opening Play.

*User-friendly design to help readers absorb ideas
*Concentrates on the fundamental principles of the openings
*Ideal for the improving player

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781857443509
Publisher: Everyman Chess
Publication date: 04/01/2004
Series: Starting Out - Everyman Chess Series
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 949,963
Product dimensions: 6.88(w) x 9.56(h) x 0.42(d)

About the Author

Jacob Aagaard is a young International Master from Denmark who has earned himself a deserved reputation as an industrious and no-nonsense chess author.
His previous works for Everyman include Queen's Indian Defence and Meeting 1 d4. He also authored Excelling at Chess, which was very well received by reviewers and the chess public alike.

Table of Contents

1Classical Exchange: Main Lines15
2Classical Exchange: Minor Lines46
3Modern Exchange Variation: 8 Rb171
4Modern Exchange Variation: Other Lines90
5The Russian System111
6Bf4 and Bg5 Systems137
7Other White Systems155
Index of Variations173
Index of Complete Games175


In this easy-to-read guide, Jacob Aagaard goes back to the basics of the Grünfeld, studying the key principles of its many variations. This book is part of a series, which also includes Starting Out: The English, Starting Out: The Pirc/Modern and Starting Out: The Ruy Lopez.

Customer Reviews