Stax Profiles

Stax Profiles

by The Staple SingersThe Staple Singers


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.


Throughout the distinct phases of their recording career, from straight rhythmic gospel to Civil Rights protest anthems, to what might be called soul folk to the funky grit of their Stax years, the Staple Singers always delivered songs that said something, and even when the grooves of songs like 1971's "Respect Yourself" or 1972's reggae-tinged "I'll Take You There" were sending people to the dancefloors, the lyrics were hopeful, message-driven missives of support for a better self, a better community, and a better world. Stax Profiles is a fine anthology which collects tracks recorded between 1968 and 1975 during the Staple Singers productive stay at Stax Records, and includes both "Respect Yourself" and "I'll Take You There," as well as the powerful "City in the Sky," "Touch a Hand, Make a Friend," "Are You Sure," with its brilliantly staggered vocals, and the Steve Cropper produced "Long Walk to D.C." There isn't a single lame track here, and while there are lengthier collections of the Staple Singers' Stax years on the market, this one has a wonderful flow.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/25/2006
Label: Stax
UPC: 0025218862424
catalogNumber: 8624

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Staple Singers   Primary Artist
Steve Cropper   Guitar
Memphis Horns   Track Performer
Roebuck "Pops" Staples   Guitar,Vocals
Joe Arnold   Track Performer
Barry Beckett   Keyboards
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Bass,Bass Guitar
Roger Hawkins   Drums
Eddie Hinton   Guitar
David Hood   Bass
Clayton Ivey   Organ
Wayne Jackson   Track Performer
Jimmy Johnson   Guitar
Andrew Love   Track Performer
Mavis Staples   Vocals
Marvell Thomas   Keyboards
Al Jackson   Drums
Pervis Staples   Vocals
Yvonne Staples   Vocals
Cleotha Staples   Vocals

Technical Credits

Steve Cropper   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Luther Ingram   Composer
Robbie Robertson   Composer
Bell   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Mack Rice   Composer
Sylvester "Sly Stone" Stewart   Composer
Phillip Mitchell   Composer
Rob Bowman   Liner Notes
Jamie Putnam   Art Direction
Alvertis Isbell   Composer

Customer Reviews