by Clay AikenClay Aiken


6 New & Used Starting at $1.99


A somewhat belated attempt to revive Clay Aiken's 2010 standards album Tried & True, 2012's Steadfast takes seven of that record's 11 songs, adds three new recordings -- covers of pre-Beatles pop hits Neil Sedaka's "Breaking Up Is Hard to Do" and Connie Francis' "Who's Sorry Now," plus the new original tune "Bring Back My Love" -- and ditches the original album art for a straightforward portrait. Why go through this effort to relaunch an old album? The answer lies in Donald Trump, who cast Clay on the spring 2012 season of the Celebrity Apprentice, thereby necessitating fresh product from Aiken on the shelves. Fortunately, Tried & True was an album that deserved a second chance, as it was the record where Aiken seemed most at home: he sounded comfortable singing the melodies we all know by heart, surrounded by soft, handsomely tailored arrangements. In its Steadfast incarnation, these sessions sound no different, but the three new cuts are all good, and the overall package is more appealing than its first incarnation.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/26/2012
Label: Decca U.S.
UPC: 0602527948058
catalogNumber: 001659002

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clay Aiken   Primary Artist
Derek Watkins   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Stan Sulzmann   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Pete Beachill   Tenor Trombone
Dave Bishop   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Mitch Dalton   Guitar
Jeff Daly   Baritone Saxophone
Simon Gardner   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Noel Langley   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Steve Pearce   Electric Bass
Anthony Pleeth   Cello
Ralph Salmins   Drums
Chris Walden   Trumpet,Conductor,Flugelhorn,Soloist
Mark Jaimes   Guitar
Andy Wood   Tenor Trombone
Ben Castle   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Gordon Campbell   Tenor Trombone
Pete Murray   Piano
David Stewart   Bass Trombone
Mike Lovatt   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Vicci Wardman   Viola
Thomas Bowes   Violin
Johan Fransson   Keyboards
Tobias Lundgren   Background Vocals
Andy Mackintosh   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Jonathan Rees   Violin
Tim Larsson   Keyboards
Martin Gordy   Percussion
G-Strings Orchestra   Strings
Mark Hodgson   Double Bass

Technical Credits

Conway Twitty   Composer
Henry Mancini   Composer
Neil Sedaka   Composer
Roy Orbison   Composer
Erroll Garner   Composer
Linda Eder   Duet
Armando Manzanero   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Howard Greenfield   Composer
Dick Hodgin   Vocal Engineer
Bert Kalmar   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Jack Nance   Composer
Alex North   Composer
Harry Ruby   Composer
Ted Snyder   Composer
Billy Jay Stein   Vocal Engineer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Curtis Brown   Cover Photo
Steve Genewick   Engineer
Reed   Composer
Chris Walden   Arranger
Joe Melson   Composer
Sid Wayne   Composer
Geoff Stevens   Composer
Alex Christensen   Producer,Vocal Engineer,Vocal Editing
Will Sandalls   Vocal Engineer
Fanny Gotschall   Art Direction
Quiana Parler   Vocal Producer
Play Production   Producer
Chris Boerner   Vocal Engineer
Ben Cohn   Arranger
Johan Fransson   Composer,String Arrangements
Tobias Lundgren   Composer
Tim Larsson   Composer,Programming
Dave Novik   Executive Producer
Audra Mae   Composer
Haeflinger   Vocal Editing
Koenemann   Vocal Editing

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Steadfast 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago