Straight Outta Boone Country

Straight Outta Boone Country


$11.42 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.42, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Bloodshot Records built their reputation on a series of compilations that introduced the concept of "insurgent country" to the indie rock audience, and Straight Outta Boone County is easily the label's best collection, both in concept and execution. The CD features 20 honky tonk classics that are given a modern makeover in tribute to WLW's Boone County Jamboree and the Midwestern Hayride, two long-running live country music radio shows broadcast out of Cincinnati from 1939 to the early '60s. The artists in the lineup were some of the best alternative country acts available in 1997, including flag-bearers for the genre like the Waco Brothers and Robbie Fulks. The result is a top-notch compilation with nary a dead spot, but a few highlights do arise. Whiskeytown offers up a haunting version of Moon Mullican's "Bottom of the Glass," transforming the jaunty drinking tune into a cautionary lament. The Cowslingers turn the Stanley Brothers' rogue anthem "If I Lose" into fuzz-busting cowpunk, while the Volebeats apply their laid-back touch to the salty shuffle of "Hamtramck Mama," originally recorded by fellow Detroiters the York Brothers. Merle Travis' populist screed "No Vacancy" is done justice by Holler, with frontman Mike Ireland soaring righteously above the barrelhouse country swing. The Lucky Stars, One Riot One Ranger, and Hazeldine also stand out, but every band on Straight Outta Boone County does a fine job of paying reverence to the past while updating the songs for the punk-informed, rock-jaded alt-country crowd.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/18/1997
Label: Bloodshot Records
UPC: 0744302001920
catalogNumber: 20019
Rank: 87544

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Grievous Angels   Track Performer
Hardrock Gunter   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Eric Ambel   Bass,Drums,Background Vocals
FlatHead   Track Performer
Dave Anderson   Guitar,Background Vocals
Earl Carter   Upright Bass
Michael Hill   Guitar
Holler   Track Performer
Mike Ireland   Bass,Vocals
Brett Simons   Bass
Matthew Smith   Guitar,Vocals
Sally Timms   Track Performer
John Lindner   Drums,Background Vocals
Waco Brothers   Track Performer
Whiskeytown   Track Performer
Tim Maag   Drums
Mark Wyatt   Accordion,Vocals
Lucky Stars   Track Performer
Volebeats   Track Performer
Robbie Fulks   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Handsome Family   Track Performer
Scroat Belly   Track Performer
Slobberbone   Track Performer
Brett Sparks   Guitar,Vocals
Riptones   Track Performer
Rennie Sparks   Bass,Vocals
Scott Michalski   Drums
Mike Werner   Drums
Tod Bonansinga   Vocals
Michael "Holler" Lemon   Dobro,Mandolin
Jim Fogarty   Drums
One Riot One Ranger   Track Performer
Brent Best   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Andon T. Davis   Guitar,Mandolin
Tony Harper   Drums
Dave Devore   Guitar
Jeremy Wakefield   Steel Guitar,Vocal Harmony
Wayne Gottstine   Guitar,Vocals
Bob McCreedy   Acoustic Guitar
Jeff Oakes   Vocals
Kirk Rundstrom   Guitar,Vocals
Waycross   Track Performer
Mark Gaskill   Guitar,Vocals
Pete Remenyi   Dobro
Chas Williams   Fiddle
Carl Yaffey   Bass
Jon Rauhouse   Pedal Steel Guitar
Brent Harding   Bass Fiddle,Vocal Harmony
Daniel Henzerling   Guitar,Vocals
Deano   Guitar,Vocals
Dan Massey   Drums
Ken Miller   Bass
Dave Anderson   Guitar,Background Vocals
Earl C. Whitehead   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Mickey Ferrell   Bass,Vocals
Tim Whitlock   Steel Guitar
Paul Lemon   Drums
Jonboy   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Scott Danbom   Fiddle
Anne Tkach   Bass
Whitey Anderson   Piano
Shawn Barton   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Jeffrey Richards   Drums
Russell Ledford   Bass Guitar
Cooper   Guitar,Vocals
Rodney Bowen   Drums
Greg Miller   Vocals
Jeb Bonansinga   Guitar
Tom Harmon   Drums
Bruce Douchenoux   Drums
Chris Staples   Drums
Lil Willy Goulding   Drums
Alan Sprockets   Bass
Baron   Bass
Caroleena "Patch" Beatty   Guitar,Vocals
Cody Bennett   Fiddle
Mitch Clay   Bass
Marcus Durante   Pedal Steel Guitar
John Ezell   Drums,Vocals
James Gilliam   Guitar
Sunny Boy Haire   Guitar
Mike Herrmann   Bass,Background Vocals
Doug Hillslinger   Bass
Steve Korpi   Guitar
Bobby Latina   Guitar
Eric Makowski   Bass,Vocals
Kurt Ohlen   Bass Viol
Louis Armondo Ortega   Guitar
Vince Ramirez   Drums,Vocals
Greg Swanholm   Guitar,Vocals
Ruth Wilson   Bass
Brian Lane   Bass

Technical Credits

Grievous Angels   Producer
Jimmie Rodgers   Composer
Andy Gibson   Composer
Eric Ambel   Producer
Mike Ireland   Producer
Jeff Mann   Engineer
Rob Miller   Contributor
John Sherman   Producer
Matthew Smith   Producer
Tom Tatman   Producer
Waco Brothers   Producer
Cowslingers   Producer
Alton Delmore   Composer
Robbie Fulks   Producer
Handsome Family   Producer
Russell Young   Producer
Chuck Uchida   Producer
Hazeldine   Producer
Roy Alfred   Composer
Tom Dannery   Producer
Jeff Oakes   Producer
J. Niimi   Producer
Eric Delegard   Engineer
Ben Tanler   Engineer
Eric Babcock   Contributor
Andy Barret   Producer
Darren Blase   Contributor
Caution Horse   Producer
Denny Kellogg   Engineer
Show offs   Producer
Dave Stucky   Producer
Greg Swanholm   Producer
Nan Warshaw   Contributor

Customer Reviews