Strummin' with the Devil: The Southern Side of Van Halen

Strummin' with the Devil: The Southern Side of Van Halen


$18.83 $18.99 Save 1% Current price is $18.83, Original price is $18.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


There must be some kind of collectors' appeal to the myriad of intricately packaged bluegrass tributes to rock bands, because like Beanie Babies, they just keep coming. One needs only to read the title Strummin with the Devil: The Bluegrass Tribute to Van Halen to imagine the experience, but there's something "extra special" about this compilation. Not only do listeners get to realize their dream of hearing Eddie Van Halen's "Eruption" played on a banjo, they also get legendary frontman David Lee Roth handling lead vocals on "Jump" and "Jamie's Crying" -- the latter has been turned into a waltz. Roth has always been game for self-parody (money), and he rises to the occasion, providing just enough ham to keep things in "DAVE TV"-land. There is little reason to go in depth here, as the genre is as predictable as it is perfectly executed, and depending on one's tolerance for novelty, the results are either stupefyingly brilliant or harbingers of the end times.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/06/2006
Label: Cmh Records
UPC: 0027297909021
catalogNumber: 9090
Rank: 49162

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tony Trischka   Banjo
Darol Anger   Violin
David Lee Roth   Vocals
John Jorgenson   Guitar,Mandolin,Soloist
Mike Compton   Mandolin,Vocal Harmony
Larry Cordle   Vocals,Baritone (Vocal),Tenor (Vocal)
Booie Beach   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Charlie Chadwick   Bass
Dennis Clifton   Guitar,Vocals
Dudley Connell   Guitar,Vocals
John Cowan   Vocals,Background Vocals,Acoustic Bass
Brad Davis   Guitar,Soloist
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Pat Enright   Guitar,Vocals
David Grisman   Mandolin
Rob Ickes   Dobro
David McLaughlin   Mandolin,Vocal Harmony
Jason Moore   Bass
Alan O'Bryant   Banjo
Tim Stafford   Guitar,Tenor (Vocal)
Adam Steffey   Mandolin
Wayne Taylor   Bass,Vocals
Andy Todd   Bass
Scott Vestal   Banjo
Marshall Wilborn   Bass,Vocal Harmony
Mike Anglin   Bass
Wayne Benson   Bouzouki,Mandolin,Vocals
Mark Bright   Guitar
Monroe Grisman   Acoustic Guitar
Mark Scott   Banjo
Dennis "Cannonball" Caplinger   Banjo
Steve Gulley   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Jeff Autry   Guitar,Vocals
Jason Burleson   Banjo,Mandolin
Barry Abernathy   Banjo
Jim VanCleve   Fiddle,Background Vocals
Shad Cobb   Fiddle,Vocals
Kristin Scott Benson   Banjo
Tony Robertson   Mandolin,Tenor (Vocal)
Samson Grisman   Acoustic Bass
Noam Pikelny   Banjo
George Marsh   Percussion
Kim Gardner   Dobro
Mark Whiteheads   Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals
Shawn Lane   Mandolin,Baritone (Vocal)

Technical Credits

David Lee Roth   Composer,Author
John Jorgenson   Producer
Larry Cordle   Producer
Col. Jim Silvers   Executive Producer
Richard Adler   Producer
John Brim   Composer
Dennis Clifton   Producer
John Cowan   Producer
Brad Davis   Liner Notes
David Grisman   Producer
David McLaughlin   Engineer
Tim Roberts   Engineer
Eddie Van Halen   Composer
Alex Van Halen   Composer
David Wild   Liner Notes
Mark Bright   Producer
Greg Lawrence   Engineer
Monroe Grisman   Producer
David Haerle   Executive Producer
Steve Baccus   Producer
Richard Barrow   Engineer
Marcelo Blanco   Art Direction
Michael Anthony   Composer
Tim McFadden   Producer
Dave Dennisen   Engineer
Lisa Roth   Executive Producer
Bobby Starnes   Engineer
Alex Gibson   Engineer
Robert Battaglia   Engineer

Customer Reviews