Suede [2011 2CD/1DVD]

Suede [2011 2CD/1DVD]

by SuedeSuede


$18.99 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Borrowing heavily from David Bowie and the Smiths, Suede forge a distinctively seductive sound on their eponymous album. Guitarist Bernard Butler has a talent for crafting effortlessly catchy, crunching glam hooks like the controlled rush of "Metal Mickey" and the slow, sexy grind of "The Drowners," but he also can construct grand, darkly romantic soundscapes like the sighing "Sleeping Pills" and the tortured "Pantomime Horse." What brings these elegant sounds to life is Brett Anderson, who invests them with bed-sit angst and seamy sex. Anderson's voice is calculatedly affected and theatrical, but it fits the grand emotion of his self-consciously poetic lyrics. Suede are working-class lads striving for glamour, and they achieve it by piecing together remnants of the past with pieces of the present, never forgetting the value of a strong hook in the process. And while the sound of Suede frequently recalls the peak of glam rock, its punk-influenced passion and self-conscious appropriation of the past make it thoroughly postmodern. Coincidentally, its embrace of trashy pop helped usher in an era of Brit-pop, but few bands captured the theatrical melancholy that gave Suede such resonance. [Edsel's 2011 expansion of Suede's debut defines the term generous, running two CDS and one DVD. The first disc contains a remastered version of the album expanded with demos of seven songs from the album and its B-sides, including "The Drowners" and "Metal Mickey," while the second disc rounds up the eight B-sides from the album -- including "My Insatiable One," "To the Birds," "He's Dead," and "Where the Pigs Don't Fly," all of which could fit comfortably on the finished album, something Brett Anderson argues within his liner notes -- and then six unreleased demos and outtakes including a cover of the Pretenders' "Brass in Pocket," a piano version of "My Insatiable One," and "Just a Girl," an early recording made when Justine Frischmann was still in the band. The DVD has the promo clips for the album's singles -- including two versions of "The Drowners" -- the Love & Poison home video, a full concert from February 1993 in Sheffield, the band performing "Animal Nitrate" at the Brit Awards that same year, and then some retrospective interviews with the band.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/07/2011
Label: Edsel Records Uk
UPC: 0740155800130
catalogNumber: 5580013
Rank: 20111


Disc 1

  1. So Young
  2. Animal Nitrate
  3. She's Not Dead
  4. Moving
  5. Pantomime Horse
  6. The Drowners
  7. Sleeping Pills
  8. Breakdown
  9. Metal Mickey
  10. Animal Lover
  11. The Next Life
  12. The Drowners
  13. Metal Mickey
  14. Pantomime
  15. He's Dead
  16. Moving
  17. To the Birds
  18. Sleeping Pills

Disc 2

  1. My Insatiable One
  2. To the Birds
  3. He's Dead
  4. Where The Pigs Don't Fly
  5. Painted People
  6. The Big Time
  7. High Rising
  8. Dolly
  9. My Insatiable One
  10. Brass In Pocket
  11. Diesel [Take
  12. Stars on 45
  13. Just a Girl
  14. Sleeping Pills

Disc 3

  1. The Drowners
  2. Metal Mickey
  3. Animal Nitrate
  4. So Young
  5. The Drowners
  6. Animal Nitrate
  7. Metal Mickey
  8. Moving
  9. My Insatiable one
  10. Animal Nitrate
  11. Pantomime Horse
  12. The Drowners
  13. Painted People
  14. So Young
  15. Animal Lover
  16. Sleeping Pills
  17. To The Birds
  18. The Next Life
  19. Moving
  20. Animal Nitrate
  21. My Insatiable One
  22. Metal Mickey
  23. Pantomime Horse
  24. He's Dead
  25. The Drowners
  26. Painted People
  27. She's Not Dead
  28. To the Birds
  29. Sleeping Pills
  30. So Young
  31. Brett Anderson and Bernard Butler 2011 Interview

Album Credits

Performance Credits

London Suede   Primary Artist
Brett Anderson   Vocals
Lynne Baker   Viola
Caroline Barnes   Violin
Ed Buller   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Trevor Burley   Cello
Bernard Butler   Guitar,Piano
Simon Clarke   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Simon Gilbert   Drums
Mat Osman   Electric Bass
Phil Overhead   Percussion
Shelley Van Loen   Violin

Technical Credits

Brett Anderson   Composer,Liner Notes
Ed Buller   Producer,Engineer
Bernard Butler   Composer
James Honeyman-Scott   Composer
Chrissie Hynde   Composer
Jools   Packaging
Peter Barrett   Original Sleeve Design
Andrew Biscomb   Original Sleeve Design
Andy Crabb   Video Director
Pedro Romhanyi   Video Director
Matthew Amos   Video Director
David Lewis   Video Director
Lindy Heymann   Video Director

Customer Reviews