by WilcoWilco

CD(Special Edition)

$34.99 $49.99 Save 30% Current price is $34.99, Original price is $49.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One of the many cryptic lines on Wilco's excellent new SUMMER TEETH goes, "Speakers speaking in code." It's more meaningful than one might think. Wilco, the brainchild of ex-Uncle Tupelo bassist Jeff Tweedy, is an alt-country band whose music presents a tough code to crack -- blurring the boundaries around rock, punk, country, alternative pop, and psychedelia so brilliantly that many fans don't consider the band alt-country at all. Tweedy is a grainy, gorgeous singer who writes great songs that seem channeled in from some car-radio Valhalla. Wilco's groundbreaking 1996 album, BEING THERE, saw him take roots-rock to stylistically experimental places it had never gone before, and SUMMER TEETH continues to homestead this uncharted territory. "Pieholden Suite" is a soft, gentle shuffle that morphs into a horn-drenched, string-soaked elegy to a first kiss that can only be described as cocktail country, while "Nothing'severgonnastandinmyway(again)" is pure, potent AM pop, hand claps and all. Still, should songs like "I'm Always in Love," an up-tempo rocker hooked around a spacey synthesizer, start to befuddle alt-country purists, the rugged, disconsolate acoustic guitar on "Via Chicago" will have 'em crying in their beer. Jeff Tweedy is a rare talent, an artist who has perfected and redefined a particular style of music with graceful ease, and SUMMER TEETH is a fantastic example of how talented he is.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2020
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0603497846061
catalogNumber: 643503
Rank: 4616

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wilco   Primary Artist
Jay Bennett   Group Member
Ken Coomer   Group Member
Cheryl Pawelski   Compield
John Stirratt   Group Member
Jeff Tweedy   Compield,Group Member
Tom Schick   Compield

Technical Credits

Woody Guthrie   Composer
Billy Bragg   Composer
Jay Bennett   Composer
Ken Coomer   Composer
Mitch Easter   Engineer
Larry Greenhill   Engineer
Cheryl Pawelski   Producer
John Stirratt   Composer
Jeff Tweedy   Composer,Producer
Wilco   Producer
Russ Long   Engineer
Corey Harris   Composer
Mike Hagler   Engineer
Tom Schick   Producer
Lawrence Azerrad   Art Direction
Chris Grainger   Engineer
John Mulvey   Liner Notes
Adam Roehike   Engineer
Dave Trumfio   Engineer

Customer Reviews